Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Revenant Dead: Imperial Rape March

Once again Birmingham England gives us a dose of all that is metal with the great release from the band Revenant Dead. These four chaps from the land of British Steel, continue where their predecessors left off. Never wavering, the band is a great mixture of thrash, prog metal, death metal and good old fashion rock and roll!!

With a flourish that even hints at the industrial sounds of the Marilyn Manson ilk, Revenant Dead blast off with the terrific song "Decay Dance". This song takes you through many of the genres that this band calls home and sets a tone to the album that will all but guarantee that this disc does not stray far from the CD player. This is the type of music that will remind you what we listen to metal music for in the first place. There is nothing pretentious or elaborate about their approach, just straight ahead old school with a modern edge. You can put this one on and forget about everything for about forty minutes while they band delivers a metal blast that wipes away most any thought except for what you are listening to.

The dynamic sound continues throughout the disc. "Vertigo" is a song that captures the essence of rock and roll with its slow hook and hard driving melody. Easily one of my favorites off this 10 song disc but it is extremely hard to say that as I cannot find one that is a let down.

The first single "Jailhouse" is another example of how these boys take all that the history of Birmingham music has given us and used that as a basis for this new and exciting form of metal. The chorus of "Don't give me a reason to hate you" has been stuck in my brain since receiving this disc.

Revenant Dead is without a doubt one of the most versatile groups to emerge from the Next New Wave Of British Metal. They show a masterful blend that is hard to ignore but who in their right mind would want to anyway!! This has been a non stop source of musical enjoyment in the house since it got here. The powerful metal attack has become a staple around here as much as dinner!

Track listing:

1. Decay Dance
2. Vertigo
3. Jailhouse
4. Imperial Rape March
5. Perfekt Hate
6. Bloodtide
7. Tantamount
8. Cordially Numb
9. Compulsion
10. Torment

Added: April 21st 2009
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Myspace Page
Hits: 2378
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by