Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Beyond the Dream: The Sin Against the Sinners

The Sin Against the Sinner is the debut full length from Finnish quartet, Beyond the Dream. Founded in 2001, they had previously released an eight track EP in 2007, The Beginning . Both were self-released, which didn't affect the production work, at least not on this new album.

This disc counts 13 compositions of dark music, lasting nearly an hour. I would compare their style as a mixture of Tiamat and Cradle of Filth. They have the somber and crushingness of the first, while having the narrative/theatrical and orchestral side of the latter, without Dani's annoying screeches. The vocals of Harri are, quite the contrary, rather of the lower tonality with a certain roughness in them. I enjoyed the crunch of the guitar & bass duo, which are also helped by the keyboards at times, in the mid paced parts and compositions on this album. I believe moderate tempos are working perfectly with metal darkness like Black and Doom Metal. It allows a more somber atmosphere and intensity to sink in, while leaving room for more harmonies (arpeggios/ tremolo pickings etc…). Tracks like "Fading Stern", "Freewill as a Souvenir" and "Engaged With the Wind", are where Beyond the Dream showed their strongest writing skills. On the other hand, I believe that 13 songs are too much, unless you have something varied, impressive and amazing to propose. Unfortunately, some of the songs didn't cut it for me, like : "Ambassador", "Banished From Wonderland" and "Mental Image of Fear".

Overall, The Sin against the Sinner does have some good darkness and intensity, with melody and catchiness, but they should have released an 8-9 songs album , for a stronger album.

Track Listing
1 - Foreword
2 - Beautiful Little Storm
3 - Ambassador
4 - Fading Stern
5 - Masquerade in Eden
6 - Blinded
7 - Banished from Wonderland
8 - Freewill as a Souvenir
9 - Lullaby for the Sleeping World
10 - ...Ther My Heart Should Be
11 - Mental Image of Fear
12 - Engaged With the Wind
13 - When Man Exists no More

Added: April 19th 2009
Reviewer: Denis Brunelle
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1495
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by