Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Nevermore: The Year of the Voyager

Recorded on the 2006 tour in support of This Godless Endeavor comes this 2CD live set from metal giants Nevermore. Call it thrash, call it classic or power metal, in the end, Nevermore has always delivered classy heavy metal that defies categorization, and here you get a virtual 'greatest hits' live album that touches on songs from throughout their career. As always, the virtuoso guitar work of Jeff Loomis stands out, and here he's joined by former Jag Panzer guitarist Chris Broderick (who left the band after this tour and eventually hooked up with Megadeth) for quite the dynamic duo. The two shred and crunch their way through Nevermore classics like "Enemies of Reality "My Acid Words", "What Tomorrow Knows/Garden of Grey", "The River Dragon Has Come", "Narcosynthesis", and "Matricide", among many others. Lead singer Warrel Dane , always the able frontman, lends his dramatic and powerful vocal stamp throughout, really shining on pieces such as "Born", " Inside Four Walls", 'Dead Heart in a Dead World", and the stunning "The Heart Collector". His between song banter with the crowd is quite humorous at times, though you'll quickly get annoyed at all the times he askes the crowd "'Are you getting tired yet?" throughout the set.

Masterful sound quality and a vibrant CD booklet round out this excellent live package from one of heavy metal's most consistent bands. In addition, a DVD of this show and plenty more extras is also available. Highly recommended.

Track Listing
Disc: 1
1. Final Product
2. My Acid Words
3. What Tomorrow Knows/Garden Of Grey
4. Next In Line
5. Enemies Of Reality
6. I, Voyager
7. The Politics Of Ecstasy
8. The River Dragon Has Come
9. I Am The Dog
10. Dreaming Neon Black
Disc: 2
1. Matricide
2. Dead Heart In A Dead World
3. Inside Four Walls
4. The Learning
5. Sentient
6. Narcosynthesis
7. The Heart Collector
8. Born
9. This Godless Endeavor

Added: April 15th 2009
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2713
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by