Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mortification: Post Momentary Affliction (remaster)

Metal Mind Productions continues the Mortification reissue campaign with this, their third release, 1993's Post Momentary Affliction. They've done a splendid job on the packaging with this one, the full color digipack containing the original artwork, full lyrics, plenty of live photos of the band, and even a lengthy essay about the history of Mortification. Musically, this one is similar to predecessor Scrolls of the Megilloth, Christian and occult lyrical themes housed with the confines of early 90's classic death metal, and though there are 14 songs listed on the original album release, almost half of them are short interludes that lead into the longer and certainly more savage numbers. Standouts here are the lengthy "From the Valley of Shadows", the raging "Human Condition", the mix of complex death metal with creepy atmospherics on "Distarnish Priest", and the crushing, near 10 minute epic "Overseer". The latter contains a plethora of relentless drum blasts, massive guitar riffs, and Steve Rowe's blood curdling vocal delivery.

This reissue contains a few bonus live cuts, and although they are of sub-par quality, it's a plus having some live versions of some of the studio album's stronger songs. Overall this is a solid release from Mortification, as you get some thunderous death metal as well as creepy atmosphere, and their lyrics as always have that Christian slant but with just enough occult leanings to keep things interesting. The remaster job is about as good as you can imagine, as it's hard to do too much with metal recordings from this era, but it's clean and crisp with just enough of the raw quality left in. Though there are many Mortification releases to choose from if you are new to the band, this one should be in the first group you look into when exploring their discography.

Track Listing
1. Allusions from the Valley of Darkness
2. From the Valley of Shadows
3. Human Condition
4. Distarnish Priest
5. Black Lion of the Mind
6. Grind Planetarium
7. Pride Sanitarium (Reprise)
8. Overseer
9. This Momentary Affliction
10. Flight of Victory
11. Impulsation
12. Liquid Assets
13. Vital Fluids
14. Sea of Forgetfullness
15. Butchered Mutilation [Studio][*]
16. Grind Planetarium [Live][*]
17. Distarnish Priest [Live][*]
18. From the Valley of Shadows [Live][*]

Added: March 25th 2009
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1883
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by