Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Iron Fire: To The Grave

Once again the boys from Denmark have manufactured a piece of epic Power Metal that will have looking for your trusty broadsword and chain mail! These rock and rollers have been through some trying times but like true warriors of metal, they prove with this record that they will continue their battle…to the grave.

With a majestic flourish, Iron Fire starts you off with a trip into the world of "The Beast From The Blackness" where the band's electrifying sound takes you into the mythical realm where monsters are roaming the earth and sword wielding heroes keep the land safe for all. Guitarist Kirk Backarach tries to slay the beast alone with his fiery six string attack that is so dominant against the swirling orchestration of this opening track. He sets the mood for what you are about to hear on this very high quality epic metal offering. No "Beast From The Darkness" can withstand the onslaught that Iron Fire brings to bare on the hapless creature.

From there this disc is a terrific combination of metal and epic fantasy. Songs like "Kill For Metal" raise the specter of Manowar with its anthem like ode to the music they produce, but the vocals of Martin Steene sets this band apart. He has a very unique timbre that is simply dynamic for the genre. His ability to produce the mood of each offering is brilliant. An example is the song "The Battlefield" where he varies from snarling growl to lush melodic tone as the story evolves.

To The Grave also offers some of the most searing guitar work the band has ever produced. The title track "To The Grave", "March Of The Immortals" and "The Demon Master" all show the band in full blown metal mode with scorching guitar work throughout. This is not to say that the rest of the album is light in comparison because if I have one complaint about this disc is that it never gives you a break! Once they start the attack it doesn't stop till the silence at the end of the disc. There is twelve prime cuts of pure power metal that will keep you straining the neck muscles for the duration. It is one powerhouse that every lover of metal should have in their collection. Excuse me while I go put on my chain mail!

Track listing:

1. The Beast From The Blackness
2. Kill For Metal
3. To The Grave
4. The Battlefield
5. Cover The Sun
6. March Of The Immortals
7. The Kingdom
8. Frozen In Time
9. Hail To Odin
10. Doom Riders
11. Ghost Of Vengeance
12. The Demon Master

Added: March 25th 2009
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Official Page
Hits: 2823
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by