Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hawkins, Fiona Joy: Blue Dream

Fiona Hawkins is a classically trained pianist and composer from Australia. Her fourth and latest release entitled Blue Dream demonstrates just how talented a composer and songwriter she is. On this album she teams with producer Will Ackerman and I can tell you the result is quite impressive. Production values are very high and the musical clarity is absolutely stunning providing a depth to these songs that makes for great listening. Hawkins refers to her style on this cd as World Fusion Piano and that seems an apt description. Jazz, classical and world music are mixed together nicely with piano being the highlight as Hawkins weaves melody after melody throughout the album. The music is primarily acoustic driven as other instruments such as violin, cello and mandolin add a certain lushness to the sound. The songs flow together nicely and the album should be taken as a whole, not so much as individual songs. Musical interludes are used primarily as bridges between pieces.

Whether it's the classically based compositions such as "Standing Up" with its beautiful piano and violin, the world/classical influenced "Song Phonique" which includes wonderful male and female vocals by Noah Chase, Heather Rankin and Lilith or the Gaelic inflected "Moving On" with another superb piano melody and excellent vocals from Rankin, it is hard not to be moved by this album. You just might feel like you have lived in a dream after listening to this music for sixty-eight or so minutes.

My copy came in a fold out digipack and the booklet includes a list of all instruments used in each song as well as a series of photos depicting tranquil winter scenes, somewhat reflecting the music contained within. Hawkins is a class act all the way and she has made a fine work of art, perfect for listening to after a stressful day at work. If you like piano based music with a strong classical influence this should be right up your alley and I can recommend this without hesitation.

Track Listing:
1. Freedom (1:51)
2. Feeling Sunshine (2:54)
3. From the Outside (4:32)
4. Sapphire Interlude (1:43)
5. Standing Up (6:33)
6. Cerulean Interlude (0:25)
7. Blue Dream (3:13)
8. Lilac Interlude (0:39)
9. Contemplating (6:32)
10. Sunrise at Ularu (2:45)
11. Samite's Interlude (2:45)
12. Song Phonique (6:27)
13. Indigo Dream Interlude (0:53)
14. The Void (3:42)
15. Turquoise Interlude (2:21)
16. Voice of Angels (2:23)
17. Cobalt Interlude (1:27)
18. Prelude to a Painting (2:52)
19. The Midnight Interlude (4:34)
20. Moving On (5:17)
21. Azure Interlude (0:19)
22. Somewhere (3:43)

Added: March 16th 2009
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1725
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by