Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Orcustus: Orcustus

Once you get past the obvious graphic nature of the CD cover (which I'm sure will be plenty distasteful to some), the goods contained on the full length debut of Norwegian black metal supergroup Orcustus are actually quite solid. Formed in 2002 by singer/guitarist Taipan (Abattoir), the band was rounded out by drummer Dirge Rep (Enslaved), and guitarists Infernus & Tormentor (both from Gorgoroth). This self titled release is indicative of the early/mid 90's black metal scene that was happening in Norway, so if your love for the genre includes acts like Mayhem, Gorgorth, Emperor, and Immortal, then you've come to the right place. Lots of brutal riffery and blast beats flying about the mix here, Taipan's vocals quite savage and raw on all of these thunderous tunes. Gorgoroth founder Infernus actually plays bass here (along with additional bass work from Radek and Vrangsinn) so the bulk of the guitars were done by Tormentor and Taipan, and there's plenty of icy cold tremelo picked riffs and even some tasty fills & solos along the way. Highlights are the epic "Of Sophistry, Obsession and Paranoia", the weaving "Conversion" (which has some of the best guitar playing on the CD), the black 'n' roll stomp of "Jesus Christ Patricide", and the raw, primal, old school flavored "Ego Sum Chaos".

In addition to the cover, if you have a weak stomach the booklet might not be your cup of tea and could be a tad offensive to you, as the band included all sorts of black and white photographs of various scenes of death, none of which are too pleasant. However, if you are familiar with the black metal scene, shock value is always the key, so perhaps these grisly images won't come as to much of a surprise to you. Latest word has it that the band's line-up has once again changed since the recording of the CD (as it has numerous times over the years), with both Infernus and Tormentor moving on to other projects. We shall see what the future holds for this black metal horde, but in the meantime Orcustus is a fine release for all you old school fans.

Track Listing
1. Coil 05:13
2. Of Sophistry, Obsession and Paranoia 08:49
3. Conversion 05:21
4. Jesus Christ Patricide 07:45
5. Death and Dissolution 04:42
6. Ego Sum Chaos 06:03
7. Asphyxiokenisis 03:50

Added: March 14th 2009
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Southern Lord
Hits: 2267
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by