Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Alan Parsons Project: Pyramid (remaster)

The comprehensive overhaul of The Alan Parsons Project back catalogue began last year with the release of the bands two most commercially successful albums, Eye In The Sky and I Robot. But that still left plenty more to come and now we have six more releases that have all been expanded to include a host of previously unreleased bonus tracks.

The Project's third album , Pyramid, was issued in 1978 and built on the success of I Robot by reaching #26 on Billboard. Kicking off with the reflective instrumental 'Voyager' this segues nicely into the single 'What Goes Up' with lead vocals shared between David Paton and Dean Ford. Dominated by synths, moody verses lead into an emphasised chorus and incorporates a well executed solo. Former Zombie Colin Blunstone lends his distinctive voice to the mystical atmospherics of 'The Eagle Will Rise Again' which provides arguably the albums stand out moment. Long time Project vocalist Lenny Zakatek takes over for the unremarkable 'One More River' which never really seems to get going but leads into 'Can't Take It With You' which comes with all of the trademarks of the Project; that delicate blend of prog and pop with an insistent melody.

Conceptually the next three tracks can be viewed as a trilogy with their recurring themes of the Middle East, Egypt and the Pyramids themselves. Commencing with the overtures of 'In The Lap Of The Gods', a symphonic and bombastic instrumental that explodes into life with an orchestra and choir towards the end. The quirky, off-beat 'Pyramania' provides the bridge that takes us to the expansive 'Hyper-Gamma-Spaces' , an exercise in the use of electronics that has parallels with the like sof Jean Michel Jarre. The album proper closes out with the bittersweert ballad 'Shadow of a Lonely Man' with passionate vocals by John Miles. Early versions and demos make up the extras ad these give a good understanding of the creative process.

Whilst not the most celebrated of the Project's works, Pyramid stands up well some thirty years on and can be considered a solid effort.

Track Listing

  1. "Voyager"
  2. "What Goes Up..."
  3. "The Eagle Will Rise Again"
  4. "One More River"
  5. "Can't Take It with You"
  6. "In the Lap of the Gods"
  7. "Pyramania"
  8. "Hyper-Gamma-Spaces"
  9. "Shadow of a Lonely Man"
  10. "Voyager/What Goes Up/The Eagle Will Rise Again" (instrumental) -bonus track
  11. "What Goes Up/Little Voice" (early version demo) -bonus track
  12. "Can't Take It With You" (early version demo) -bonus track
  13. "Hyper-Gamma-Spaces" (demo) -bonus track
  14. "The Eagle Will Rise Again" (alternate version - backing track) -bonus track
  15. "In the Lap of the Gods" (Part I - demo) -bonus track
  16. "In the Lap of the Gods" (Part II - backing track rough mix) -bonus track

Added: March 6th 2009
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2762
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by