Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Redemption: Frozen In the Moment-Live in Atlanta (DVD)

Filmed at the 2007 edition of the ProgPower Festival in Atlanta, Georgia, Frozen In the Moment is a great documentation of the Redemption live set in support of their release The Origins of Ruin, which besides this full show at the festival the band also toured North America with Dream Theater and Into Eternity for a great triple bill. Featuring ten songs, Frozen In the Moment allows the fans of Redemption to realize that the band is much more than a studio creation, and that as a live unit, they are more than capable, in fact they are quite a formidable progressive metal monster on stage. Fronted by Fates Warning singer Ray Alder, the band also features principle songwriter and guitarist Nicolas van Dyk, guitarist Bernie Versailles, Sean Andrews on bass, drummer Chris Quirarte, and keyboard player Greg Hosharian.

In front of a packed crowd of somewhere between 1,200-1,500 prog-metal fanatics, Redemption rip through just over an hours worth of material, highlighted by songs such as "Bleed Me Dry", "The Suffocating Silence", "Threads", "Memory", and the epic "Sapphire". The band comes across even heavier live, and their instrumental abilities really shine here, so you can expect plenty of complex passages, ripping guitar solos from both men, intricate drum fills, symphonic keyboards, and acrobatic bass work. Alder, though he doesn't quite have the range of his early years with Fates Warning, is still a talented singer and strong frontman, and these songs are a perfect fit for his style of vocals.

The bonus features include a really fun photo/video tour diary, set to an unlreleased instrumental track that is absolutely killer (hopefully they will release it on a future CD release), which takes the viewer through the tour of North America, and you can see that the band had a great time out on the road with Dream Theater and Into Eternity. There's also some hilarious behind the scenes footage from the tour, including a birthday cake celebration from Mike Portnoy to Ray (you can guess how that turns out) and plenty of joking around on the tour bus. Toss in a CD of the ProgPower show that you can crank up in the car or on your iPod, and you have a great live DVD set from Redemption, one of the most underrated progressive metal bands around.

Track Listing
1. Threads (6:08)
2. Bleed Me Dry (6:02)
3. Nocturnal (3:30)
4. Memory (9:00)
5. The Suffocating Silence (6:00)
6. Release (5:01)
7. Fall On You (9:27)
8. Sapphire (14:52)
9. The Death Of Faith And Reason (5:27)
Total Time: 65:23
Bonus Material-Video for "Bleed Me Dry", Video & Photo Tour Diary set to a previously unreleased 11 minute instrumental track, behind the scenes video, and a full CD of the entire concert

Added: March 5th 2009
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3331
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by