Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hurricane: Slave To The Thrill

The 80's saw the rise of the hair metal bands out of the L.A. music scene. Bands like Quiet Riot and Motley Crue ruled, but then there was a secondary group that gathered the respect of many along with legions of fans but never gained the prominence of the afore mentioned bands. Hurricane was one of these groups.

With their third offering; Slave To The Thrill, Hurricane provides us with arguably their best effort. Filled with the hooky, highly infectious melodies that beg you to sing along with them, Slave To The Thrill is an album that could easily define the term hair metal band. Led by the dramatic vocals of Kelly Hanson, you will quickly be taken back to the days of groups like Whitesnake and Foreigner. Not surprising, Kelly would join the group Foreigner after the break-up of Hurricane, as a replacement for Lou Gramn.

This disc is one that has everything that a fan of this type of music would ever want. From the rockin' opening of "Reign Of Love" to the equally rockin' ending of "Smiles Like A Child", Hurricane delivers a good dose of the metal that we all grew up with. While there is no real stand out songs on this disc, there is also nothing on here that makes me want to hit the skip button either.

While you might be tempted to just let this album fall by the wayside, it is a good slice of a particular brand of music that although it might be not the most thrilling stuff you will ever hear, it is music that is great to have playing while out for that drive or during the party to get the people out dancing.

Now the disc itself is put into a larger package that recreates the original artwork including the inner sleeve. It makes the disc a bit bigger than the norm and still cannot be read without a magnifying glass. It is a cool idea but one that should have been done with a little more thought. Also the track listing is in the wrong order. There is a short instrumental piece at track 8 that is not listed so from that song on all the tracks have the wrong numbering.

Track listing:

1. Reign Of Love
2. Next To You
3. Young Man
4. Dance Little Sister
5. Don't Wanna Dream
6. Temptation
7. 10,000 Years
8. (Untitled)
9. In The Fire
10. Let It Slide
11. Lock Me Up
12. Smiles Like A Child

Added: March 3rd 2009
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Myspace Page
Hits: 2182
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by