Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Throne of Katarsis: Helvete/Det Iskalde Morket

Get ready for an all-out sonic assault of monstrous Norwegian black metal with the sophomore effort from Throne of Katarsis, titled Helvete/Det Iskalde Morket. If you are familiar with their debut, An Eternal Dark Horizon, then you are well aware of this duo's punishing sound, which is a cross between 1349, early Darkthrone, Immortal, Dark Funeral, Marduk, and perhaps Burzum. The formula of their debut doesn't change much here, so expect long, extended songs, littered with blast beats, crushing guitar riffs, agonizing & tortured vocal wailings, and moments of dark solitude. For the studio recordings (they flesh the line-up out when playing live) it's once again drummer Vardalv and Infamroth, who handles vocals, guitars, bass, and orchestrations.

Kick off track "The Winds of Blasphemy" is a brutal number, Vardalv's tremedous blasting technique rampaging about the mix, while Infamroth's screams are nightmarish in their execution. "Lysets Endeligt" is truly epic, furious tremelo picked riffs and relentless blast beats momentarily give way to gorgeous acoustic guitar and symphonic effects, before Infamroth once again drags the listener back into reality with hellish wailing and walls of brutal guitar riffs. On "The Darkest Path", the duo go for a more textured, almost doomy delivery, slower, more ponderous riffs and drum patterns featured, along with vocals that are slightly restrained. The title track "Det Iskalde Morket" returns things to a fast & furious pace, a killer old school styled black metal romp with evil intentions, and closer "Summoning the Horns" once again mixes some spooky atmospherics with bludgeoning arrangements and brutal vocals straight out of the bowels of hell. The tasty little acoustic guitar outro at the end is a nice touch as well.

This is some truly chilling, brutal stuff, and not for the faint of heart. Throne of Katarsis are challenging labelmates 1349 for the title of 'most brutal black metal band on the planet' with this one. Check it out and cast your vote.

Track Listing
1) The Winds of Blasphemy
2) Lysets Endeligt
3) The Darkest Path
4) Det Iskalde Morket
5) Summoning the Horns

Added: March 3rd 2009
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2645
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

İ 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content İ Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by