Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Electric Mud Generator: To The Disdain Of Polyhymnia

With a name like Electric Mud Generator it would be safe to assume that these three lads from Northern England are capable of conjuring up a shitload of thick, sludgy riffs on an epic scale. Well believe the hype coming out of the land of dear old blighty because this is exactly what you get here on their stunning sophomore album To The Disdain Of Polyhymnia released by Total Prog Records. Comprised of just five tracks, with only one less than seven minutes, this trio delivers a devastatingly effective sonic hammer straight to the cerebellum via an array of torrid guitar work and mad tempo changes. As if their straight ahead crushing assault isn't potent enough on its own, and believe me it is, the other half of their two pronged attack reveals a softer, mellow personality which only adds further depth and color to their overall sound.

Every track on this album is stellar in both form and execution but the twenty two minute larger-than-life "Five Elegies" has to be the real kicker here. The first half of this composition features a lush, male / female vocal delivery, plaintive violin solo and a simple yet highly effective synth pattern. Around the eleven minute mark the sound opens up dramatically as it develops into a robust, symphonic, extended instrumental passage. The song take on a few more twists and turns before climaxing in an unmitigated flurry of power riffing and majestic soloing.

To really get the most out of To The Disdain Of Polyhymnia, your shouldn't be in a hurry because this isn't background music to put on while you clean out the garage. This music will command your attention from the onset and won't let you out of its grip until the static white noise climax of the synth gone wild on the last number "The Abolition" has ended. You'll marvel at just how each track unfurls at its own deliberate pace, only to have it eventually morph into something completely different every time. The ultra-heavy guitar work is straight out of the glory days of the 70's and coupled with the softer elements of space and folk rock it makes for as lethal a one two punch combination that you're likely to come across.

Track Listing
1) Galatea
2) She Wore Thorns
3) Winter
4) Five Elegies
5) The Abolition

Added: February 25th 2009
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Total Prog Records
Hits: 2098
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by