Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Revolting Cocks: Sex-O Olympic-O

From the mind of Al Jourgensen comes another chapter in the saga of Revolting Cocks. They call it industrial dance music. Another of those pigeonholing terms that is used for those that must apply a classification to every piece of music out there. It really doesn't matter what you call it when it comes to the Revolting Cocks, as they are going to do things their way no matter what anyone thinks. The closest description of their music I can come up with is if Marilyn Manson's tour bus collided with Frankie Goes To Hollywood, the results may very well be the Revolting Cocks.

I was told that Jourgensen has some of the original furniture from the Korova Milk Bar from A Clockwork Orange in his studio. It is not much of a stretch to picture the band with Al and his droogs sitting around sipping vellocet and inventing what was to become Sex-O Olympic-O.

As the driving bass hits you at the opening of the first song "HookerBot3000", it becomes apparent that there is no way to keep still for this album. It is an absolute delight that may make you think of everybody from David Bowie to someone I reviewed just recently, Spyder Baby.

While the disc is a multi-faceted gem it retains that heavy dance beat throughout with standouts being the blazing "Red Parrot", with its tinkling honky tonk piano work and the first single from the album "I'm Not Gay", with its insatiable electronic disco beat that gets the RevCo treatment from the guitar work of Sin Quirin and the mesmerizing vocals of Josh Bradford.

This album may not be for everyone but name an album that is. The RevCo guys have come up with a disc that is something very unique and without a doubt one of the most disturbing yet entertaining works I have heard so far this year. This was to be the album where Jourgensen turned over the group to the next generation. The plan was for Sin Quirin, Josh Bradford and Clayton Worbeck to take over and propel RevCo into the next century. Well, upon hearing the music and the way the album was turning out, Jougensen had to sit in on a few sessions and eventually became a full fledged member once again. Although he says he will not be doing the full tour with the new band, it is good to know that, as the headline of the press release for the album states; FOUNDER AL JOURGENSEN DECIDES TO STAY A COCK. You will be glad he did!

Track listing:

1. HookerBot3000
2. Keys to the City (Vegas Mix)
3. Red Parrot
4. Robo Banditos
5. Cousins
6. Touch Screen
7. I'm Not Gay
8. Abundant Redundancy
9. Lewd Ferrigno
10. Wizard of Sextown
11. HookerBot3000 (Disco A Go Go Mix)

Added: February 21st 2009
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Official Page
Hits: 2253
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by