Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Man Made Mountains: Man Made Mountains

Man Made Mountains hail from Vancouver, British Columbia, and this is their self-titled debut on Reversed Records. These guys have all the energy and aggression of an extreme metal band, yet there's plenty of industrial, prog, gothic, and groove elements to be heard throughout this six song CD. The band is comprised of Laurence Butler (drums), Adrian Doering (guitar), Brynne Ewart-Armostrong (bass/vocals), and Christian Carmen (vocals/guitar/synth guitar/samples). Influences seem to range from Fear Factory, Opeth, Tool, My Dying Bride, and Warrior Soul, so expect lots of variety here, as the band keeps the listener guessing most of the way through this self-titled release. Kick off track "Rippage" features lots of crunching riffs and growls, yet there are moments of psychedelia and stark tranquility. "Ensnarlment" sees the Fear Factory/Warrior Soul influence come into full swing, industrial elements clash with 90's metal, Christian's vocals all over the map, clean, shouted, and growls among them. The brooding "Nothing to Right Home About" is a short proggy number with some gorgeous guitar & synth tapestries, which gives way to the groove laden rocker "Vulpine", a totally different beast from the rest of the CD, male & female vocals, jangly guitar chords combating massive riffs, and pounding rhythms make for one powerful anthem. It's back to a proggy interlude on "Sleep Drowning (On Your Chinterlude)", and the CD ends with the atmospheric progressive metal track "Tribes of Mular", a tune that features some impressive guitar work and layers of different vocal styles.

This is some impressive stuff, and at barely over 30 minutes, it almost seems like a bit of a teaser. Man Made Mountains are definitely a band to watch out for, as it's evident by this CD that these guys have plenty of chops and songwriting skills to make a name for themselves in todays metal scene.

Track Listing
01. Rippage
02. Ensnarlment
03. Nothing To Right Home About
04. Vulpine
05. Sleep Drowning (On Your Chinterlude)
06. Tribes of Mular

Added: February 18th 2009
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band's MySpace Page
Hits: 1492
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by