Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Eyefear: The Unseen

Sweeping out of Australia like a tempest storm, Eyefear takes another step forward into the world of epic Progressive Metal with their release of The Unseen. This group is slowly becoming one of the forces in this genre and this album will help them continue their climb to the top of the mountain.

From the opening moments when the intro "Hypnosis" sets you up for the grandeur that follows, it is clear that Eyefear is a band that has finally come into its own. With each release the band has shown a growth that on this, their fourth release puts them up near the category of bands such as Symphony X or even Blind Guardian. Their blend of melodic/power/progressive metal is hard to ignore or for that matter resist as these masters of their field give all within earshot a solid dose of the kind of music that digs deep into the soul and will remain a fixture there for a long time to come.

Danny Cecati is the voice of Eyefear. Many will remember him from his days with Pegazus but he proves how underrated a vocalist he is with the amazing display on The Unseen. Showing the range that is his forte, Danny delivers the goods with such power and conviction that you are sucked into each tale that he sings for you. Also on the disc is a video of a live performance of the song "Dreams" from the album 9 Elements of Inner Vision. This is especially cool because you get to see Danny and his mane that has to be the longest hair in metal!

Besides the fantastic vocals, this group also benefits from the combined efforts of guitarist Con Papazoglou and keyboardist Sammy Giacotto. This pair produces such a dynamic and startlingly imaginative metal soundscape that it is easy to hear why this album made my list of the best of 2008.

While this genre is overloaded with quality acts, Eyefear is one that deserves your attention. They have titled this grand album The Unseen, but one thing is abundantly clear, it should not be The Unheard!

Track listing:

1. Hypnosis
2. Illusions
3. Bridge
4. The Unseen
5. Always Reason
6. Waisting Away
7. Darkness Til Dawn
8. Multimedia Track: Live Video: Dreams

Added: January 31st 2009
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2807
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by