Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Siebenburgen: Revelation VI

Revelation VI is Siebenurgen's sixth album, the Gothic/Melodic Black Metal band was founded in 1994 by vocalist/bassist Marcus Ehlin. The remaining line-up consists of Richard Bryngelsson and Joakim Ohlsson on guitars, Dennis Ekdahl plays drums, Johnnie Gunther provides keyboards and Lisa Bohwalli additional vocals. This album also has guest appearances from guitarist Andy La Rocque (King Diamond/X-World 5) who dishes out some solos. Revelation VI might not have seen the light of day or should I say darkness, due to issues that nearly saw the demise of the band, but lucky for us that didn't eventuate and they signed to Massacre Records in 2007.

"Awaken" is somewhat the dark atmospheric opening orchestral track , "Rebirth Of The Nameless" follows, Siebenburgen's lead singer Marcus Ehlin's eerie growls can be heard and are most fitting in the context of their music. "Revelation VI" is a fine track with a great contribution from Lisa Bohwalli's softer wide ranging voice. There are numerous cool guitar/keyboard melodies, many a tempo adjustment and variety in style amongst the thirteen numbers on this brooding metal release. "Grimhein" is a fun fast track, ending with a great slower head banging riff. "After The Wolf (Do Dead Men Follow)" delivers enjoyable all round performances. "Enter Omega" is the bonus track and offers up a change in proceedings with sirens wailing and calmer guitars. "The Soulless" launches into furious drumming from Dennis Ekdahl and is a deathly thrasher. Closer "At The End Of Twilight" sees the instruments dominate yet with some nice input from Lisa Bohwalli.

Siebenburgen have crafted a menacing soundtrack with fine production, delving into the sinister darkness and coming out with Revelation VI.

Track Listing
1. Awaken
2. Rebirth Of The Nameless
3. Infernaliia
4. Revelation VI
5. Grimheim
6. After The Wolf (Do Dead Men Follow)
7. S.I.N.
8. The Oaken Throne
9. The Soulless
10. Enter Omega (Bonus Track)
11. In Sanctum
12. Fire Leaps High
13. At The End Of Twilight

Added: January 16th 2009
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2515
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by