Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Forest of Shadows: six waves of woe

Niclas Frohagen is the man behind Forest of Shadows. In fact, he is Forest of Shadows. This one man band from Stockholm, Sweden has come up with a very forceful and gripping piece of gothic/death metal on this his second album. Six waves of woe weaves an intricate web of eerie atmospheric music wrapped around the death metal growls and somber clean vocals of Niclas.

The front cover of the CD depicts a lonely desolate shoreline that Niclas says is a place of both happy and sad memories from his childhood. The music that he produces may very well have taken root in that very spot. Like a cold gust blowing off the water, his music hits you with a chilling quality that digs deep down into your being. If nothing else, this album will make you reflect upon yourself and if like me, make you realize that there is a time and a place for loneliness too.

I think that this is a true solo album for a reason. It is a piece of art that can best be described as music to be appreciated while alone. This is the best way to get swept into the world that Frohagen creates for you. While much of the music could be called depressing, it does give you a sense of release. That is the power of music when done by someone with as much talent as Niclas.

For someone who can appreciate what he is trying to do here, this album is filled with some extremely mind boggling tales. The song "detached" is an epic piece where Frohagen's death metal growl is something that rakes the nerve endings that the bombastic music has laid bare. On "moments in solitude" he constructs a sonic landscape that is as stark as the name implies. Using clean vocals this time, Niclas creates a picture of someone on the edge. Life and sanity are fragile and he will make you feel what its like to be on the borderline.

This is an album that should appeal to a wide variety of metal lovers. It should also be one that the goth crowd will eat up too. Lastly, if you are a connoisseur of great atmospheric music, this album is a must have.

Track listing:

1. submission
2. self destructive
3. detached
4. moments in solitude
5. pernicious
6. deprived

Added: January 5th 2009
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Website
Hits: 2386
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by