Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Becoming the Archetype: Dichotomy

Here's a late 2008 release that, had I gotten my grubby mitts on it earlier, would have easily made it somewhere on my Best of 2008 list. Dichotomy is the third release from Christian extreme metal band Becoming the Archetype, and here they've paired up with Devin Townsend to handle the production chores, and the results are quite stellar, 10 tracks of brutal, industrialized death metal (except with Christian lyrical content) that bears more than a slight resemblance to Strapping Young Lad at times. The vocals are quite good, a mix of deep growls and clean melodic passages, and they are complemented by pounding guitar riffs, a splattering of keyboards, and jackhammer rhythms. Opening cut "Mountain Of Souls" kicks things off in grand fashion, complex riffery, growls, drum blasts, and ethereal synths batter your senses before the closing minute, when a gentle piano melody lulls you into dreamland. That quickly passes, as the slamming title track follows, industrial synth blips flutter about the mix while the guitars pummel your senses, and "Artificial Immortality" features some tasty guitar harmonies and spooky synths, not to mention some evil growls from bassist & lead singer Jason. "Self Existent" is pure, progressive death metal, complete with plenty of keyboards amidst the brutality, and "Evil Unseen" is just monstrous from start to finish. The near 7-minute gem "End Of The Age" is a real treat, plenty of melodic lead guitar work (love the wah-wah) stabbing around the crunchy riffs and ominous keyboards, nimble drum fills, acoustic guitars, and tortured growls completing the package.

Damn impressive from start to finish, Dichotomy is sure to raise many eyebrows, especially those who perhaps didn't take Becoming the Archetype seriously before. With uplifting lyrics, heavy & intense music, and a great production job from Hevy Devy, Dichotomy is a total success.

Track Listing
1. Mountain Of Souls 5:14
2. Dichotomy 4:23
3. Artificial Immortality 3:56
4. Self Existent 4:16
5. St. Anne's Lullaby 1:51
6. Ransom 4:02
7. Evil Unseen 4:02
8. How Great Thou Art 4:27
9. Deep Heaven 4:36
10. End Of The Age 6:30

Added: January 5th 2009
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band's MySpace Page
Hits: 2088
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by