Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sun Ra: Media Dreams

This is a two CD compilation of live recording from a 1978 tour of Italy. This group is Sun Ra (piano, keyboards), John Gilmore (tenor sax, drums), Michael Ray (trumpet), Luqman Ali (drums) and all members sing. The music on these CDs is freeform jazz. The band does get into some cool grooves from time to time, but to my ears there is just too much meandering going on. There are two songs "the truth about planet earth" and " space is the place" that remind me of songs that could have been on Sesame Street from the 70's. These songs both have basic funky beats that have a repetitive narrative line sung over them.

These CDs maybe of interest to Sun Ra fanatics and fans of freeform jazz.

Track List
1. Saturn Research
2. Constellation
3. Year of the Sun
4. Media Dreams
5. Twigs at Twilight
6. An Unbeknoweth Love
1. Friendly Galaxy
2. An Unbeknowneth Love
3. Of Other Tomorrows Never Known
4. Images
5. The Truth About Planet Earth
6. Space is The Place
7. The Shadow World

Added: January 2nd 2009
Reviewer: Christian Bernier
Related Link: ReR Megacorp USA
Hits: 2654
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by