Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dark Empire: Humanity Dethroned

They say good things come to those that wait...those of you who heard New Jersey's own Dark Empire a few years back with their debut release Distand Tides knew there was plenty of talent and potential just waiting to be released, and folks, that hour is upon us. Newly signed to Killzone Records, the band have unleashed Humanity Dethroned, a stellar collection of thrashy power/progressive metal songs, brimming with flashy instrumental arrangements and tons of catchy melodies. The band is currently comprised of Matt Moliti (guitars, death vocals), Jens Carlsson (lead vocals), Andrew Atwood (guitars, death vocals), and Samus (drums), although on the CD Moliti performs all the guitar, synth, and bass parts. If you can imagine a sound that mixes Symphony X, Blind Guardian, Nevermore, and Scar Symmetry, then you can sort of predict the outstanding metal that Humanity Dethroned contains.

The CD kicks off with the energized 1-2 punch of "Eyes of Defiance" and "No Sign of Life", the former a melodic prog-metal piece also featuring some growls from Moliti (there's the Scar Symmetry connection) while the latter is a blistering power metal track featuring some ripping lead guitar work, slamming drums, and Carlsson's commanding vocal delivery. This guy has some tremendous pipes (if you followed him in Savage Circus you should be well aware of this), sounding like a cross between Hansi from Blind Guardian and Ronnie James Dio. Like raging thrash injected progressive metal featuring punishing riffs and wicked lead solos? Check out the intense title track, or the fierce "Salvation Denied ", where the band really gets down and dirty. Those into the more proggy aspect of the genre will love "The Forgotten Sin" and the four part closing suite, which really is a work of art for the band, as they go from furious yet melodic progressive metal ala Into Eternity, Symphony X, and Scar Symmetry, alternating between Carlsson's powerful vocals and Moliti's growls, supported by some stellar instrumentation. The closing segment of the suite is the gorgeous "Closure", perhaps the CD's strongest cut, a tender ballad featuring plenty of synths, tender acoustic guitar, and Carlsson's most emotional vocals on the album. Oh yeah, and the addicting hooks here on this one make this one hell of an anthem!

Let's hope that Dark Empire get this act out on the road, as this is really strong material that deserves to be heard by the metal masses in a big way. Recommended!

Track Listing
1. Eyes Of Defiance
2. No Sign of Life
3. Humanity Dethroned
4. The Forgotten Sin
5. Faded Dreams
6. Salvation Denied
7. Prelude
8. Haunted
9. Possessed ( We are one)
10. Closure

Added: December 11th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band's MySpace Page
Hits: 2107
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by