Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Eclipse: Are You Ready To Rock

The album title asks "Are you ready to rock" and if you enjoy melodic rock music your answer will likely be yes. Eclipse originally formed in 1991 in the city of Stockholm by Erik Martennsson (lead vocals) and Magnus Henriksson (lead guitar). Various incantations of the band eventually led to Robert Back (drums) and Johan Berlin (keyboards) joining to play on the new album, their third release overall.

This is pretty consistent melodic rock filled with strong melodies, big choruses, speedy guitar riffs and just enough keyboards to add a little variety to the whole affair. The songs are in the three to five minute range and none are over five minutes. They are all up-tempo numbers with nary a ballad in the bunch. This band is not about instrumental virtuosity and long extended jams, although the odd longer song would have given the band members a little more freedom to develop some musical themes and to take them a bit further. There is, however, some pretty good shredding from Henriksson and overall the band is quite tight.

One thing I will say is this album definitely rocks and this is exemplified right from the start with the album's first song "Breaking My Heart Again". With its keyboard intro, heavy riffage, strong vocals, and a catchy chorus, it is a great way to start the album. It kind of gets the juices flowing so to speak. You can pretty much expect the same throughout the album. "Million Miles Away" is perhaps the album's best song. It's addictive chorus and excellent background harmonies helps this one stick out a little more than the rest.

The music could have used a bit more variety to hold my attention longer, but that is only a minor complaint since the music is strong melody-wise and the musicianship is quite good.

That pretty much sums it up. I would say if you are into bands like the Scorpions, Harem Scarem, Europe and Whitesnake, to name but a few, you will more than likely be happy with this cd.

Track Listing:
1) Breaking My Heart Again (4:27)
2) Hometown Calling (3:16)
3) To Mend A Broken Heart (4:03)
4) Wylde One (3:56)
5) Under The Gun (4:39)
6) Unbreakable (3:25)
7) Hard Time Loving You (3:38)
8) Young Guns (3:22)
9) Million Miles Away (3:29)
10) 2 Souls (3:34)
11) Call Of The Wild (3:53)

Added: December 10th 2008
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's MySpace Page
Hits: 2195
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by