Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Stuck Mojo: The Great Revival

Unless you have been under a rock for the last 20 years, the idea of combining metal and rap is something that you are probably familiar with. Living in Michigan as I do, the guy they call Kid Rock has brought this brand of music to every concert hall, country fair and radio station in the state. Stuck Mojo has been around nearly as long and although they might not have reached the pinnacle as Mr. Rock, it's not from lack of quality music. As this disc proves they are still one of the best in this crossover style.

Led by imposing lead singer Lord Nelson, whose 6'5" frame is daunting enough, Stuck Mojo creates a blend on this album that is sure to have mass appeal. This disc is filled with songs that are as catchy and full of life as anything that they have put out. Songs like "Friends" with its great guitar riffs and a touch of Motown to it will keep these guys on the radio for sure. They also give a little bit of sweetness with the country tinged "Superstar Part 1". Just think about the Kid Rock tune "Picture". This is very similar in style but with the terrific guitar of Rich Ward making the difference. Rising star Christine Cook adds the female vocals throughout the disc that are just a perfect offset to Lord Nelson's powerful voice.

For those that want a little harder edge, the band gives you some very heavy moments like with the song "15 Minutes of Fame" or the short but scorching "The Fear". Nothing compares to the very metal "Invincible" though. This has everything that the metalhead in you would want. Rich Ward and his 6 string sledgehammer pounds you on every opportunity and it's easy to see why these guys have shared the stage with some of metals most famous bands such as Pantera and Testament. For those that have followed Rich and his work, this album is a delight.

Remembering where they came from, the band also throws in a very cool reworking of the John Denver song "Country Roads". This one took me by surprise but a pleasant one for sure.

So for all the Kid Rock, Faith No More fans out there, here is a disc that will make you forget those other guys. Stuck Mojo has hit upon a real winner with this album. I cannot think of another release in this genre that has appealed to me as much as this one!

Track listing:
1. Worshipping A False God
2. 15 Minutes Of Fame
3. Friends
4. The Flood
5. Now That You're All Alone
6. There's A Doctor In The House
7. The Fear
8. There's A Miracle Comin'
9. Country Road
10. Invincible
11. Superstar Part 1 (The Journey Begins)
12. Superstar Part 2 (The World Of Egos and Thieves)

Added: December 1st 2008
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 4212
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by