Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

ZZ Top: Live From Texas

Here's the companion CD to the DVD of the same name released earlier this year by Eagle Rock Entertainment. Hard to believe that ZZ Top never really had an official live album till now, but for those that have been waiting, dig in! Many of the band's trademark songs are here, given blistering, raunchy renditions, especially the earlier gems such as "Just Got Paid" (damn near close to being 'blues metal' if there is such a thing), "Cheap Sunglasses", the crunchy "Waiting For the Bus", "Got Me Under Pressure", and the wailing blues of "Jesus Just Left Chicago"...where's "Beer Drinkers (And Hell Raisers)" though? Though the 80's and 90's material doesn't quite have the magic of the 70's riff monsters, these are the tunes that the majority of the fans seem to remember and cherish the most, and they are all here, "Legs", "Sharp Dressed Man", "Rough Boy", and "Gimme All Your Loving", sandwiched in between the heavier numbers and old staples like "Tush" and "La Grange". The band is in fine form, especially Billy Gibbons, who still has one of the sweetest guitar tones out there.

The CD comes in a handsome digipack with a colorful booklet with live photos from the show and full commentary. So pop this CD in, crank it up, and get ready to do the 'tube snake boogie' with the bearded trio from Texas.

Track Listing
1. Got Me Under Pressure 4:24
2. Waitin' For The Bus 2:54
3. Jesus Just Left Chicago 4:48
4. I'm Bad, I'm Nationwide 5:11
5. Cheap Sunglasses 4:42
6. Pearl Necklace 5:14
7. Just Got Paid 6:38
8. Rough Boy 6:02
9. Blues Intro 1:05
10. Blue Jean Blues 4:09
11. Gimme All Your Lovin' 4:32
12. Sharp Dressed Man 4:39
13. Legs 4:59
14. Tube Snake Boogie 3:01
15. La Grange 7:40
16. Tush 5:54

Added: January 5th 2009
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: ZZ Top Website
Hits: 1864
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by