Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Karma To Burn: Almost Heathen (reissue)

Metal Mind Productions has re-released this 2001 work by the instrumental trio Karma To Burn. With ten tracks of some pretty terrific guitar rock, Metal Mind gives you a soundtrack for just about any activity you wish to participate in. This disc is simply put, an enjoyable group of songs that will satisfy the appetite when you have a hunger for crunching guitar work without the distraction of vocals. Although there is no part of the disc that really stands out, (maybe that is why all the songs have just numbers for their titles) this disc has nothing on it to skip over either. It could just have easily been one track that covers the entire length of the album. The songs all seem to blend together as there is no real variation in the theme that they do. I have found myself throwing this disc on while I am working and while doing chores around the house. It is a perfect motivator when the need arises to get up and go!

Loud, hard edged, blues oriented rock and roll with a bit of Southern feel is what you get and they do as good of a job at it as anyone. Just keep in mind that you might not be able to distinguish what song you are listening to but it really doesn't matter on this type of CD anyway. They all are worthy of a listen.

On this re-release there is also 6 live tracks added. Here you get another dose of the same thing with just a touch more feedback, a little crowd noise and introductions to some of the material. So if you are in the mood to just let the mind wander and want something to help with the mental process, this is as good as any disc you will find.

With the resurgence of instrumental rock in recent years, it is too bad that this band broke up. I am sure that they would have been better known now than back in their day.

Track listing:
1. Nineteen
2. Thirty Eight
3. Thirty Four
4. Thirty Seven
5. Thirty Nine
6. Thirty Six
7. Thirty Three
8. Thirty Five
9. Five
10. Forty
11. One(Live)
12. Three(Live)
13. Twenty Two(Live)
14. Seven(Live)
15. Eight(Live)
16. Six(Live)

Added: November 22nd 2008
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's MySpace Page
Hits: 1908
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by