Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Spawn of Possession: Noctambulant

No doubt if you are an extreme metal fan you've either jumped on board the rampaging brutal & technical death metal train that is Spawn of Possession, or at least heard the hype and wondered just how good they are. Well, lets just say that these Swedish maniacs live up to the hype, and they deliver the goods and then some on their sophomore release Noctambulant. Though their debut Cabinet was solid, I found them going a little too close to the Nile sound, whereas here they let it all hang out, showing their influences a bit (Suffocation, Nile, Decapitated) yet pouring on their own spin on the technical death metal genre, uncovering a band that more than has what it takes to compete with the likes of Origin, Decrepit Birth, Beneath the Massacre, Necrophagist, Psycroptic, and Brain Drill.

Jonas Bryssling and Jonas Karlsson are the key here, their tight, muscular, and extremely intricate guitar riffs and just mesmerizing, as the two show how they are equally adept at brutal metal riffing as well as blazing jazz soloing. Just listen to the absolutely wild metal shredding on "In My Own Greed", as both guitarists trade insane leads amidst frantic riffing and acrobatic drum work from Dennis Rondum. Of course, mention needs to be made of lead singer Jonas Renvaktar, he of the unholy growl, who adds his menacing delivery to these bombastic, technical death metal tunes. Chances are if you like the vocals in Nile or Decrepit Birth, Jonas' style will suit you just fine. Cannibal Corpse guitarist Pat O'Brien adds a guest guitar solo on the crushing "Render My Prey", adding even more firepower to this brutal piece.

Noctambulant is one of those CD's that you listen to over and over again, and hear something different each time out. There's a lot of intricate riffs, blast beats, pulverizing bass, virtuoso soloing, and excellent vocal growls going on here, all housed within complex death metal arrangements that stick in your head despite how damn tricky they are. Not a lot of bands can do that, but Spawn of Possession certainly can. These guys are definitely headed for bigger and better things, so if you haven't yet jumped on that train, better do so now before it leaves you in the dust.

Track Listing

  1. Inception
  2. Lash By Lash
  3. Solemn They Wait
  4. Render My Prey
  5. Eve Of Contempt
  6. Sour Flow
  7. By A Thousand Deaths Fulfilled
  8. Dead & Grotesque
  9. In My Own Greed
  10. Scorched

Added: November 14th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3193
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Spawn of Possession: Noctambulant
Posted by ??? on 2008-11-15 07:55:33
My Score:

This cd along with The Faceless "Planetary Duality" are mandatory purchases!! They could truly represent some of the finest death metal composing ever. And if you enterprising guitar players are wondering....There are solos galore!!

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by