Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Head On Collision: Ritual Sacrifice

Out of St. Louis they come. A raw, powerful trio of musicians whose main goal is to pummel you with their wicked brand of 'in your face' thrash metal. Guitarist/Vocalist and all around angry young man Pat McCauley is the main focus of the group. He is a dynamo on both the guitar and the guttural vocals that burn with the aggression and passion of the violent world that surrounds us. While speaking with him about the album, the subject of anger management came up. He replied that this album is his release and therapy. That it is! These guys bring all the angst of the punk rock world and give it a heavy metal makeover.

Putting this CD on for the first time, the energy of the instrumental first track "Arise From The Wreckage" hits you like a ton of bricks! John Hancock on bass gives you a thumping energetic good time. He has a super technique that relays the torment of the violent subject matter. Pat on guitar is a truly gifted player. He is the main focus in this trio and he gives you more than you bargained for. If this is the result of pent up anger, then Pat, I hope someone pisses in your corn flakes because we need to keep you mad at the world! (Just kidding guy). My only complaint on this song and throughout the disc is the playing of Jason Brooks on drums. He does have his moments but for far too much of the album he is very mechanical in his approach. Guess Pat needs to slap him around a bit and get him to let a bit of the anger out on his drum kit!

Let's say, you have just gotten through one of those really terrible days at work. I suppose you could head for the local pub and try to drown the pent up frustration. But there is another way. Why not grab Head On Collision's home therapy kit called Ritual Sacrifice. Go find a nice spot with no sharp objects around you. Put on the headphones and let Dr. McCauley and company help get rid of all that anger!

Track Listing:
1. Arise From The Wreckage
2. Violence And Aggression
3. Electrocutioner
4. Enemy Lines
5. Godhand
6. Permanent Damage
7. Fear
8. Petaliate
9. Reap The Weak
10. The Flames Of Aggression
11. Ritual Sacrifice

Added: November 9th 2008
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's MySpace Page
Hits: 2557
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by