Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Slaughter: Strappado (remaster)

Not to be confused with their glam band namesakes, this particular Slaughter was a thrash/ death metal trio formed in Toronto in 1984. The bands main claim to fame during their four year existence was having the late Chuck Shuldiner of Death fame among their ranks for a few weeks shortly before this debut album was recorded. "F.O.D." (Fuck Of Death") makes reference to this and acts as a bit of a tribute to the man.

Strappado is a heaping dose of raw, crunching thrash / death metal consisting of seven (plus four songs recorded during the same sessions but not originally included on the album) tracks that alternate between two tempos, medium and ultra fast. Dave Hewson's vicious drop tuned guitar work meshes perfectly with Terry Sadler's distorted bass riffs to create a uniquely potent sonic brew. Drummer Ron Summers definitely holds his own as well with his punishing, relentless assault behind the kit. Both Hewson and Sadler share the vocal duties which present two very different styles. You get the low, guttural death growls, which at times treads very close to Tom G. Warrior's trademark "ooh's" (surprise, surprise the band serves up their own version of Hellhammer's "Massacra" later on) coupled with a more traditional clean style, thrash shouting. It works very effectively either as tradeoff vocals on "Disintegrator / Incinerator", the straight ahead death vox of "Parasites" and "The Curse" or the high pitched screams of "Strappado". While the sound and themes come across as slightly dated at times, the overall level of intensity and the pure abrasive nature of the performances remain very infectious, so fans of 80's thrash and death metal will definitely enjoy this one.

This splendid Metal Mind reissue, in addition to including the aforementioned four bonus tracks, also includes a rare glimpse into Slaughter live, with a thirteen track concert set tacked on at the end that was recorded in the bands hometown of Toronto in early 1985. Unfortunately though the bands silly onstage antics coupled with a sound that is barely above bootleg quality, renders the majority of this performance as expendable. The curiosity factor piques somewhat for a violent run through of both the Hellhammer cover as well as their spirited take on Venom's "Witching Hour". Also worth mentioning is the Easter egg factor contained within the final track "Bloody Karnage", which after its conclusion offers a brief radio segment praising said live concert, before slamming straight into an extremely raw cover of Slayer's "Black Magic".

Track Listing
1) Disintegrator / Incinerator
2) Nocturnal Hell
3) F.O.D. (Fuck Of Death)
4) Tortured Souls
5) Parasites
6) The Curse
7) Strappado
8) Maim To Please (Bonus Track)
10) One Foot In The Grave (Bonus Track)
11) Tyrant Of Hell (Bonus Track)
12) Death Dealer (Bonus Track)
13) Tales Of The Macabre

Live In Toronto March 25, 1985:

14) Disintegrator/ Incinerator
15) One Foot In The Grave
16) Shadow Of Death
17) Massacra (Hellhammer Cover)
18) Death Dealer
19) Tales Of The Macabre
20) Maim To Please
21) Strappado
22) Eve Of Darkness
23) Tyrants Of Hell
24) Witching Hour (Venom Cover)
25) Bloody Karnage

Added: November 4th 2008
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Metal Mind Productions
Hits: 2062
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by