Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Trinacria: Travel Now Journey Infinitely

Though Trinacria is comprised of current members of Enslaved, Fe-Mail, and Emmerhoff, don't expect anything remotely similar to their main bands on Travel Now Journey Infinitely. The band combine some of Enslaved's more progressive approach to black metal, with a sludgy, almost psychedelic flavor ala Neurosis or Isis, which makes this debut a very interesting listen.

Opening cut "Turn Away" is littered with ragged, distorted guitar droning, a proggy/psych nightmare also featuring effects laden vocal growls, instantly grabbing the listener into the band's eerie world. Next track "The Silence" kicks off with rabid blast beats, leading one to believe that some blistering black metal is coming, but instead you get some sort of bizzaro Frank Zappa metal freak show, blipping effects, feedback, odd stop/start arrangements, and zany vocalizations popping in and out of the mix. Not so sure about this one, as it sounds more like a mess of cacophany than an actual song. With "Make No Mistake" the band grinds out some familiar stuff, a crunchy & powerful straight ahead death/black metal piece with fabulous growls from Grutle Kjellson and some real heavy riffs. The noise, feedback, and strange effects are still present though, as the band seems to be trying hard to separate what they are doing here from Enslaved. Easily the most supercharged piece on the CD.

"Endless Roads" is Trinacria doing their take on post-rock, a slow, droning number with lulling guitar chords, a mix of spoken word and fading growls, repetitive drum fills allowing the listener to cascade into a world of despair and anguish. The band continues into Neurosis/Isis post-rock sludge on "Breach", Ice Dale's riffs full of gloom and doom on this spooky & unsettling track, while the closing title track sees Trinacria move into progressive black metal territory, clean female vocals soaring over evil growls as relentless riffs flutter alongside plenty of melodic atmosphere and synths. The ending scream fest between wailing female vocals is quite chilling.

There you have it, an album that will probably raise plenty of questions and eyebrows among Enslaved fans. If these guys wanted to do something completely different, they certainly have. Unfortunately, Travel Now Journey Infinitely is going to get completely overshadowed, pummeled, and destroyed by Enslaved's brand new classic Vertebrae, but I do recommend if you are a fan of the band, do check this out. Just don't expect anything remotely familiar.

Track Listing
1) Turn Away
2) The Silence
3) Make No Mistake
4) Endless Roads
5) Breach
6) Travel Now Journey Infinitely

Added: November 2nd 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band's MySpace Page
Hits: 2948
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by