Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Science Faxtion: Living On Another Frequency

What do you get when you combine the talents of Bootsy Collins, Buckethead, Brain, Greg Hampton, Bernie Worrell, Steve Ferlazzo, and a host of other guest stars? Science Faxtion is the band, and Living On Another Frequency is a the CD, one fun ride into funky hard rock territory. With guys who come from a wide variety of different bands (Parliament, Funkadelic, Guns N Roses, Primus, Praxis, Godflesh, Little Feat, and many other name acts), you can expect some varied sounds here, most of it quite funky, and a lot of it quite rocking!

Lead vocals are handled by Hampton, who also contributes guitar and co-produced the CD with Bootsy, and he had a husky, Lenny Kravitz type delivery. His smoky vocals on tunes such as the beefy hard rock of "Chaos In Motion" or the guitar onslaught (courtesy of Buckethead) of "Lookin' for Eden" really fit in well. Brain's busy drum work also adds a certain element, and pairs up quite nicely with Bootsy's bulbuous bass lines (if you've listened to their work together in Praxis you are surely well aware of what these two can do together). "Famous" almost sounds like a long-lost Prince song, deeply funky with a touch of R&B, while "L.O.A.F. " is pure guitar rock, Buckethead lashing out with a torrent of heavy riffs alongside Collins' and his booming bass grooves. Other highlights include the scorching funk-metal "Take You Down" and the raucous "Fatally Flawed Flesh", each one filled with strong vocals, blipping synths, and plenty of guitar. Nice touch on "I See Rockets" too, a cool tribute to Jimi Hendrix that works on many levels.

For my money, the only real drawback here is a tad too much turntable noodling from Tobot and DJ DQ, which is fine in spots but becomes a bit overused at times, seemingly trying to take things into Hip-Hop territory all too often. If you don't mind that, there's plenty of wild futuristic rhythms and guitar pyrotechnics here (though I'd wish Buckethead would have been unleashed more) to recommend this to funk-rock lovers of all ages.

Track Listing
1. Sci-Fax Theme
2. Lookin' For Eden
3. At Any Cost
4. Chaos In Motion
5. Famous
6. L.O.A.F.
7. Gone Tomorrow
8. Life-IS-IN-DeLiver
9. Take You Down
10. What It Is
11. Fatally Flawed Flesh
12. I See Rockets

Added: October 14th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 4906
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by