Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dimmu Borgir: Enthrone Darkness Triumphant-Reloaded Edition (remaster)

This 1997 release from Norway's kings of symphonic black metal is the one that really got them their first real burst of international exposure. Enthrone Darkness Triumphant is a powerful, dramatic statement of hellish overtones, crushing riffs, blazing blast beats, layers of orchestral keys, and the ghoulish vocals of Shagrath. Dimmu Borgir would of course become stars in the years that followed this release, and though traditional black metal fans often scoff at their relevance in the genre, there's no doubt that the band influenced a host of groups in their wake.

Nuclear Blast has put out a cool 'reloaded edition' housed in a square jewel case, the album remastered with a bonus track and some multimedia features that will of course be of interest to the die-hard fans. Of the main album however, there's plenty of gems here, from the blasting opener "Mourning Palace", the majestic yet crushing "Spellbound (By the Devil)", the maniacal gem " Relinquishment of Spirit and Flesh" (featuring some killer riffs from Silenoz and plenty of frenzied drum work courtesy of Tjodalv), and of course my personal favorite, "Master of Disharmony", one of the most brutal pieces on the CD, Shagrath snarling away with mean intentions and Silenoz's razor sharp guitar riffs slaying through the mix. Symphonic black metal lovers will especially dig the last two numbers, "Prudence's Fall" and "Succubus in Rapture", each one featuring keyboard player and Mr. Top Hat himself, Stian Aarstad, adding layers of synths and piano to these aggressive yet melodic pieces. Bonus cut "Raabjörn Speiler Draugheimens Skodde" is a real strong tune, perfectly fitting in with the rest of these songs, and filled with plenty of raging riffs, blast beats, haunting keys, and Shagrath's tortured wailings.

If you've never experienced the power of Enthrone Darkness Triumphant, now's the time, and if you already have an old CD copy, you might want to consider upgrading to this new reloaded edition. Bombastic black metal the way it ought to be.

Track Listing
1. Mourning Palace
2. Spellbound (By the Devil)
3. In Deaths Embrace
4. Relinquishment of Spirit and Flesh
5. Night Masquerade
6. Tormentor of Christian Souls
7. Entrance
8. Master of Disharmony
9. Prudence's Fall
10. Succubus in Rapture
11. Raabjörn Speiler Draugheimens Skodde-bonus track
12. Entrance [Multimedia Track]
13. Bonus Material (photo gallery, screensaver, winamp skins)

Added: September 4th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3316
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by