Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cwn Annwn: Blood of the Djinn

Blood Of The Djinn is a five track EP from a band whose name is actually pronounced Coon-uh-NOON, loosely translating as The Hounds Of Hell in Welsh mythos according to their biography. Which, while being easier to pronounce this way is still a very strange band name. Cwn Annwn has five members whose many musical influences range from such metal legends as Iron Maiden, Megadeth and Dream Theater, to Primus and Tori Amos. Blood Of The Djinn is the first release with vocalist Julie Schultz, the spot was previously filled by guitarist/backup vocalist Neil James. Opening track "The Scion" and the other four on this EP features some nice guitar work from Neil James and Harry Rostovtsev. Drummer Jake Stone and Bass player Mike Strohkirch do a fine job throughout the five songs on here as well. My favorite song would be "The Djinn" with it's mixture of tempo changes and use of more aggressive male vocals combined with Julie's. I can hear a lot of potential in the songs Blood Of The Djinn has to offer, and Cwn Annwn certainly has the talent to expand their fanbase with this style of metal.

Track List
1. The Scion
2. Calypso
3. Recoil
4. The Djinn
5. The Fury

Added: September 1st 2008
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1869
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by