Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Davey, Alan: Captured Rotation

Hawkwind bassist Alan Davey's 1997 solo debut, Captured Rotation, gets the remastered treatment here. And while this collection of vocal tracks and instrumentals revolving around space travel and otherworldly fascinations has achieved cult status, it hasn't aged well. In fact, some of the songs, such as "Ancient Light" one of three cuts featuring former Hawkwind vocalist Ron Tree and the instrumental "Quirk" sound lifted from the spacey Seventies that hatched Hawkwind. There's no arguing Davey's musicality; he plays everything here. But only hardcore fans will find this reissue worth more than a few spins. (Davey remains musically active today, playing in the bands Meads of Asphodel and Gunslinger.)

Track Listing:
1) The Call
2) Never Comedown
3) Higher Than Before
4) Ancient Light
5) Space Bass
6) Hawkestrel
7) Nebula
8) Thunderbird
9) Nova-Drive
10) Spacial Wave
11) Quirk
12) Pre-Med

Added: August 21st 2008
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Alan Davey Web Site
Hits: 2090
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by