Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Errorhead: Modern Hippie

Lion Music has yet again unleashed a talented guitarist onto the international guitar hero scene. The vehicle is in the form of a trio calling themselves Errorhead and with their new CD, Modern Hippie, it features the guitar power of Marcus Deml. Deml puts in a Strat wrangling effort on Modern Hippie, twisting and bending his blues flavored licks throughout.

Marcus Deml is in the vein of a modern day (dare I say?) Jeff Beck-that's who he instantly reminds me of. A little taste of the Blow By Blow/Wired era with more of a slant towards Beck's Guitar Shop if you want a reference. But Errorhead and Deml are not clones of Mr. Beck, they have rolled out a fun, sometimes off the wall CD, full of tasty Blues-Rock chops. Marcus Deml can just flat out play! He has a great set of hands and add the vocals talents of guest singer Robbie Smith, who provides some nice soulful vocals, ala Glenn Hughes, and Modern Hippie begins to turn into a really cool listen. Besides Deml, Errorhead is made up of Frank Itt on the bass, and drummer Zacky Tsoukas. But Errorhead is about Deml, who has spent over 10 years and done over 300 session guitar gigs, as a Euro-guitar ace to the stars. The Czech born/German raised Deml has played with and for the likes of Canadian legends Saga, Toto's Bobby Kimball, '80's Hair band Kingdom Come, and UK Pop star Rick Astley to name a few.

Modern Hippie is slickly produced and has brought out the best of Errorhead's 'performances. It is a very modern sounding record that was obviously steeped in the grand era of the 1970's, with a little Fusion, Blues, Rock and even a bit of funky soul thrown in. The bottom line is this is a statement for Marcus Deml, who is obviously looking to step out from the session walls and make a name for himself. Part instrumental and part vocal tracks, Errorhead & Marcus Deml have a record that is not just for guitar enthusiasts. But if you are a guitar fan that likes tasty, note wrenching bends with a sometimes Vai-ish humor, check out Modern Hippie, I doubt you'll be disappointed.

Track Listing

  1. That's Good
  2. Connected
  3. For My Brothers
  4. Dave
  5. Temporay Impression
  6. Yeah Man
  7. Watch My Cloud
  8. Northern Lights
  9. Heaven
  10. Bhangra Baby
  11. We Came In Peace
  12. Follow Your Dream
  13. Táta

Added: August 19th 2008
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Artist MySpace Page
Hits: 3019
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by