Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ozone Player: Orange Apples

A musical research project of sorts for Finnish multi-instrumentalist Otso Pakarinen, Ozone Player makes synth-heavy progressive, electronic, jazz and world music with an ear toward the eclectic. Pakarinen recruited seven musicians for Orange Apples, Ozone Player's fifth album, and the result is a free-flowing disc that makes more sense after every spin. From the cacophonous ("Two Completely Unprepared Pianos Under Attack") to the carnival-esque ("Dog-Matic"), Ozone Player shows no fear. And although this is mostly an instrumental work, save the sparse vocals in "Extrasensory Deprivation" and the modulated voice in "Apocalypso Yo-yo," the collective's wit is evident in the clever wordplay in such song titles as "Animal Pharm" and "Escape Goat."

Once you develop a taste for Orange Apples, you'll want more.

Track Listing:
1) Extrasensory Deprivation
2) Orange Apples
3) Animal Pharm
4) Lemons and Lizards
5) Two Completely Unprepared Pianos Under Attack
6) Escape Goat
7) A Turtle's Diary
8) Apocalypso Yo-yo
9) Infer No. 21
10) Book of Worms
11) Dog-Matic
12) Helsinki

Added: August 17th 2008
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Ozone Player Web Site
Hits: 2474
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by