Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Soulfly: Conquer-Special Edition

I was blown away with Cavalera Conspiracy, the result of Max and Igor Cavalera getting together to release a great brutal metal album which I thought was the best release Max had been involved with since leaving Sepultura.That was until I heard this, the latest Soulfly. I didn't know what to expect with their new CD but hey, this is their best album yet, sure to have many a head banging, starting with the great opener "Blood Fire War Hate". Max sounds great here, he has such a powerful voice, and Marc Rizzo shows again what an awesome guitarist he is with so many great riffs and showing what a versatile player he can be. The rest of the band also do a top job creating a very heavy and catchy CD. So much effort has been put into this which is obvious with all the diversity you really don't know what's coming next with everything from crunching riffs to tribal drums to very atmospheric instrumentals. There really are no fillers here to speak of just great metal from start to finish. It's worth picking up the special edition, which really is an exceptional value, as apart from three bonus songs there is a great live concert DVD of 16 tracks and a bonus video clip. Max Cavalera has done a amazing job to release two CD's of this calibre this year, especially when so many others struggle to release one as good. Overall , Conquer reminds me of how much I miss early Sepultura, and is easily one the best metal albums of it's kind in years.

Track Listing
Disc 1 : CD
1. Blood Fire War Hate
2. Unleash
3. Paranoia
4. Warmageddon
5. Enemy Ghost
6. Rough
7. Fall Of The Sycophants
8. Doom
9. For Those About To Rot
10. Touching The Void
11. Soulfly Vi
12. Mypath
13. Sailing On
14. The Beautiful People
Disc 2 : Dvd Live In Poland 2005
1. Prophecy
2. Downstroy
3. Seek 'n' Strike
4. No Hope = No Fear
5. Jumpdaf##kup / Bring It
6. Living Sacrifice
7. Mars
8. Brasil
9. No
10. L.O.T.M.
11. Porrada
12. Drums
13. Moses
14. Frontlines
15. Back To The Primitive
16. Eye For An Eye
Plus Innerspirit bonus video

Added: August 12th 2008
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Soulfly Website
Hits: 2184
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by