Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Planeta Imaginario: Biomasa

This 2008 release from Spanish fusion band Planeta Imaginario ('imaginary planet') is a great throwback to the late 60's/early 70's jazz scene, the days when bands like Soft Machine, Return Forever, The Brecker Brothers, Mahavishnu Orchestra, Frank Zappa, Miles Davis, National Health, Tony Williams Lifetime, Weather Report, Brand X, and The Eleventh House ruled the planet with their thrilling mix of jazz, rock, funk, prog, and r&b. This 8-piece band, who come from Barcelona, touch on many styles here on Biomasa, and the production gives the songs a great live, almost vintage sound throughout the CD. Check out the tasty Fender Rhodes electric piano from Marc Capel Nadal comping away while guitarist Eneko Alberdi Laskurian rips into a spectacular solo on the brilliant piece "Capture"-classic fusion! There's plenty of horns to be heard here, which gives things an early Chicago & Grand Wazoo era Zappa feel, as many of the pieces are layered with trumpet, flugelhorn, sax, and trombone. The two epics that are featured in the middle of the CD, the title track and "La Caja Negra" both are great groove laden jazz pieces, the latter featuring plenty of guitar explorations, swirling keys, and intricate horn arrangements. The more haunting & atmospheric "L'estiu" almost brings to mind Miles Davis' late 50's works, while the 9-minute closer "Trastornos Ópticos del Oso Bipolar" is a quirky number with plenty of tricky ensemble trade-offs (especially between guitar and piano), solos, and powerful arrangements, easily the highlight of the CD and a must hear for both fusion and prog fans alike.

Hard not to love something like this, especially if you appreciate classic jazz-fusion. Once again, kudos to the folks at Cuneiform for bringing this band to our attention. Word has it that Planeta Imaginario is a formidable live act...well, someone please bring them over here to the US so we can see firsthand!

Track Listing
1. Discurso Cósmico desde el Planeta Imaginario (1:40)
2. El Francotirador de Washington (5:25)
3. Capture (6:18)
4. Biomasa (11:23)
5. La Caja Negra (12:12)
6. El Teatro de los Faranduleros (3:16)
7. Discurso Cósmico 2 (2:32)
8. Hoy Es un Nuevo Día (4:24)
9. L'estiu (6:58)
10. Trastornos Ópticos del Oso Bipolar (9:01)

Added: August 2nd 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band's My Space Page
Hits: 2796
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by