Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Krisiun: Southern Storm

Krisiun's long been one of those bands that has been releasing one killer CD after another for years now, each one better than the last. Well, the technical death metal trio from Brazil have done it again with Southern Steel, a crushing maelstrom of complex guitar riffs, dizzying blast beats, wild leads, rumbling bass, and menacing growls. If you thought that 2006's AssassiNation was extreme stuff, Southern Storm kicks things up a notch. Opening cut "Slaying Steel" sets the stage for the album perfectly, a monstrous technical death metal track that more than rivals some of the best from Nile, Decapitated, Behemoth, Cannibal Corpse, Brain Drill, Arsis, and Origin. Check out the amazing sweep picking from Moyses and the blinding blast beats from Max on the relentless "Twisting Sights", or the majestic extreme metal attack of "Minotaur", both examples of some of the best that Krisiun has to offer. Perfectly produced by Andy Classen (who worked with the band on AssassiNation and 1999's Conquerors of Armageddon), Southern Storm is so precise, so brutal, yet surprisingly there's a bit of melody thrown in as well, making for one hell of an all-around package. Alex's vocal growls are quite effective, and he's quickly becoming one of the better singers in the genre, alongside Peter from Vader, both inflecting plenty of their own personality into their delivery so you can make out much of what they are singing. Other hot tracks include the thunderous "Massacre Under the Sun", complete with some splendid riffs from Moyses, and a fun take on the Sepultura classic "Refuse/Resist".

This is furious, brutal, complex stuff from start to finish, Krisiun once again showing the world that their brand of extreme metal is here to stay and their plan to push their way up to becomming one of the elite of the genre is fast approaching.

Track Listing
1. Slaying Steel 04:11
2. Sentenced Morning 03:59
3. Twisting Sights 04:05
4. Minotaur 03:51
5. Combustion Inferno 04:23
6. Massacre Under the Sun 04:43
7. Bleeding Offers 03:24
8. Refuse/Resist (Sepultura cover) 03:00
9. Origin of Terror 04:05
10. Contradictions of Decay 04:08
11. Sons of Pest 04:47
12. Black Wind 00:48
13. Whore of the Unlight 04:23

Added: July 27th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 4044
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by