Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tempus: Got A Good Feeling

Tempus's sophomore release is a huge improvement over their debut. This is approachable music with good tunes and laden with strong hooks, and should easily achieve mass appeal. It's intelligent pop/rock which dyed-in-the-wool progressive rock fans might find it a bit straightforward - not very heavy, though it's more ballsy than most pop, and the hard rhythms and strong use of (synthesized) Hammond add strength.

The instrumentation is more mature than before, and the song structures show imagination. The extended use of piano and other keys adds sophistication, and the melodies are more interesting than most in the pop-rock genre. Fans will also pick up the occasional references, in tunes and in lyrics, to the band's previous output - particularly in "Who Am I".

Vocals are delivered in a strong, rich, mid-range timbre, pleasing to the ear despite occasional pitch control problems. There isn't as much of the previous record's Dave Matthews sound-alike style, although that timbre and the easy slip into falsetto make a brief appearance on "Already Leaving". And opening track "If I Could" is punctuated with a mild infusion of African musical influences.

You might find that the album's title track is not the best piece on the record. "You Are Not Alone" is a ballad - with unusually dominant bass guitar tones. Got A Good Feeling is generally song-oriented. There doesn't appear to be a unifying theme, the 15 tracks average a radio-friendly four-and-a-bit minutes each, and most songs are strongly vocals-oriented - although two exceptions are also the album's standout pieces. All-instrumental "Spiders Everywhere", and almost-all-instrumental "On My Way", are both worth multiple replays.

Got A Good Feeling is a feel-good, generally pleasing piece, and at almost an hour and a quarter, you'll certainly get your money's worth.


Track Listing:
1. If I Could
2. Get Up Get Out
3. Got a Good Feeling
4. You're Not Alone
5. Already Leaving
6. Suddenly
7. I'll Never Know
8. Spiders Everywhere
9. Who Am I
10.Here In My Head
11.Riding the Raven Home
12.Falling Stars
13.Trust Me
14.So Far Gone
15.On My Way


Added: July 23rd 2008
Reviewer: Duncan Glenday
Related Link: The Band's Website
Hits: 2179
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by