Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mizukagami: Yugake

The lush, rich vintage analog sounds of the 70's are alive and well on the second release Yugake from Japanese progressive band Mizukagami. This quintet has crafted six daring and musically intricate compositions that exemplify the best of what Japanese symphonic prog has to offer. Female vocalist Futaba delivers some absolutely enchanting and ethereal sounding vocals and her flute playing is equally impressive as well. Keyboardist Junya Anan deploys an arsenal of dazzling runs on his vintage synthesizers and employs a warm, opulent ambience via some inspiring Mellotron work. Together along with guitarist Yasuo Asakura, who turns in more than his fair share of dazzling and inspired sounding runs, these two musicians are clearly the drivers of Mizukagami's King sound.

If you're at all familiar with what the Japanese progressive scene has had to offer in recent years then it shouldn't be too hard to classify or figure out Mizukagami's sound, which is deeply rooted in the classic sounds of some of progressive rock's finest acts.

Track Listing
1) Yugake
2) Hanamizake
3) Yatagarasu
4) Riu
5) Tsukinokusa Tsuyunokusa
6) Ruten - Ame

Added: July 13th 2008
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Musea Records
Hits: 3576
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by