Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Journey: Revelations

If you thought that Journey were nothing more than a overblown tribute band, well, think again. Renewed, refreshed, and rejuvinated, the band is back, with new singer Arnel Pineda (who they found on YouTube fronting, you guessed it, a Journey tribute band), a new album called Revelation, and a new lease on life. This new set contains three discs, one being the brand new album Revelations, the second a CD of 'greatest hits' that the band went back into the studio and re-recorded with their new powerhouse vocalist from the Philippines, and a bonus DVD of a recent live concert in front of a energetic crowd in Las Vegas, playing a few new tunes and a batch of classics. The kicker here is that this release is only available in Walmart as far as retail outlets go, but the price is so inexpensive it's worth it to make the trek to your nearest 'mart and pick this baby up. Honestly, this is the most rockin' Journey has sounded in years, as if the arrival of Pineda has lit a spark up Schon & Co.'s 'you know whats', the 80's Journey formula in full swing here, meaning lots of soaring, catchy vocal harmonies, tasty guitar work, tight rhythms, and Jonathan Cain's sweeping keyboards. Pineda is almost a dead ringer for Steve Perry, his tremendous tenor powerful beyond belief, as he leads catchy rockers like "Never Walk Away", "Change For the Better", and "Wildest Dream" into becoming instant Journey classics. The band even takes one of their last album's strongest cuts, Generations' "Faith In the Heartland", and gives it a new spin here, Pineda outdoing former singer Steve Augieri by a long shot. Of course, even though there's plenty of rockers , you also get memorable ballads like "Like a Sunshower", "What I Needed", and the lovely second cousin to "Faithfully", the single "After All These Years". Plenty of these tunes sound straight out of the Escape or Frontiers era ("Where Did I Lose Your Love" especially) and will be a joy to listen to for avid Journey fans. Despite the fact that some of Neal Schon's riffs are a little back in the mix at times, his soloing is impeccable as always, and the drum work of Deen Castronovo never ceases to amaze. Add in the always dependable Ross Valory on bass and Cain's solid keyboard work and great backing vocals, and you have a band firing on all cylinders, with a hunger they haven't shown in years.

The second disc contains many of the bands most memorable and biggest hits, Pineda really showing he can hit the Perry high notes yet he adds in enough of his own personality to make things interesting. Good to hear "Only the Young" ( a tune that doesn't get enough attention in my book) and "Stone In Love", the band cooking once again to legendary cuts like "Wheel In the Sky", "Anyway You Want It", and of course "Don't Stop Believing", while allowing Arnel the spotlight on ballads such as "Open Arms" and "Faithfully".

To put both worlds together, the live DVD is really the icing on the cake, the band having a blast in front of a large crowd, banging out tunes like "Wheel In the Sky", "Lights", Faithfully", "Don't Stop Believing", "Open Arms", a surprising "Mother Father" (with Castronovo on vocals), alongside newer pieces "Never Walk Away", "Wildest Dream", and "After All These Years", the crowd really getting into the latter, perhaps a sign that the single is making a dent on the airwaves. You can really tell that Pineda's arrival has invigorated the band, as they seem to be really enjoying where they are at right now, and Arnel has settled right into his role as the frontman.

Overall, this is a really great package, and a wonderful value for the consumer. A solid 4 for the set of new songs, a 3.5 or 4 for the re-recorded classics (depending on your belief in doing such a thing) and a 'two thumbs up' 5 for the live set. Packaging is great too, a pull out digipack complete with excellent artwork, a booklet with full lyrics and photos. Journey is ready to be a force once more, so check your local concert schedule for a show near you this summer.

Track Listing
Disc 1
1. Never Walk Away
2. Like A Sunshower
3. Change For The Better
4. Wildest Dream
5. Faith In The Heartland
6. After All These Years
7. Where Did I Lose Your Love
8. What I Needed
9. What It Takes To Win
10. Turn Down The World Tonight
11. The Journey (Revelation)
Disc 2
1. Only The Young
2. Don't Stop Believin'
3. Wheel In The Sky
4. Faithfully
5. Any Way You Want It
6. Who's Crying Now
7. Separate Ways
8. Lights
9. Open Arms
10. Be Good To Yourself
11. Stone In Love
1. Sky Light (Intro)
2. Any Way You Want It
3. Wheel In The Sky
4. Lights
5. After All These Years
6. Never Walk Away
7. Open Arms Prelude
8. Open Arms
9. Mother Father
10. Wildest Dream
11. Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)
12. Faithfully
13. Don't Stop Believin'
14. Be Good To Yourself

Added: July 18th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Journey Website
Hits: 3661
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by