Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pyramaze: Immortal

Yes folks, it's the return of THE VOICE, the return to metal of Matt Barlow, former, and now current, lead vocalist for Iced Earth. You see, I'd always thought that Barlow would return to the music world, so when I heard he was joining prog-power metallers Pyramaze, I knew it was only a matter of time before Tim Owens made his exit and Matt was asked to come back to Iced Earth. Well, all that happened, but in addition, we get this new release from Pyramaze, a fine slab of melodic heavy metal, Barlow stepping into Lance King's shoes and doing a fine job, his husky vocals adding plenty of power to these ten solid tracks.

Although this is a pretty 'riff-heavy' album (something that should please Iced Earth fans), there's also plenty of guitar and keyboard solos, as well as atmospheric synth colorings, giving Immortal a real proggy feel at times despite the heaviness of the material. Tracks like "Ghost Light" and "Year of the Phoenix" are great crunchy metal numbers, Barlow snarling as if he never left the scene, the guitars of Michael Kammeyer beefy, while the rhythm team of drummer Morten Gade Sorensen & bassist Niels Kvist pummeling yet tight. The glue holding it all together is keyboard player Jonah Weingarten, not stepping too far out in the spotlight but splattering the landscape with plenty of symphonic backdrops and the occasional solo. Barlow is spectacular on the catchy "A Beautiful Death", a real winner of a song, complete with technical drum work and impressive riffs from Kammeyer, and prog fans will love the majestic "Legacy In a Rhyme", Matt's poignant vocals soaring over Weingarten's gorgeous piano and synth washes. Other highlights include the raging power metal stomp of "The Highland" , and the complex arrangements of "Shadow of the Beast", one of the CD's heaviest numbers.

Time will tell whether Barlow will remain with Pyramaze, but for the time being he is committed to both this band and Iced Earth. With Pyramaze, the singer is given a different setting to display his vast vocal talents, and in the process will hopefully open the band up to a host of new fans.

Track Listing
01. Arise
02. Year Of The Phoenix
03. Ghost Light
04. Touched By The Mara
05. A Beautiful Death
06. Legacy In A Rhyme
07. Caramon's Poem
08. The Highland
09. Shadow Of The Beast
10. March Through An Endless Rain

Added: September 17th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 4810
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Pyramaze: Immortal
Posted by Scott Jessup, SoT Staff Writer on 2008-09-17 06:55:11
My Score:

"Legend" off their debut Melancholy Beast is what comes to mind when I think of progressive/power metal band Pyramaze- it really is a great song. The changes that Pyramaze have gone through is reminiscent of those Lost Horizon faced also after two releases with the departure of one of the best vocalists in metal Daniel Heiman. The announcement that lead vocalist Lance King would be leaving Pyramaze was a shock. The surprises continued when it was announced former Iced Earth vocalist Matt Barlow would be filling the role, I am sure this must have generated quite a lot of extra publicity for the band. Matt's time with the band was to be short-lived as he returned to Iced Earth after performing on Pyramaze's latest. Urban Breed has since taken over vocals duties, good news given his previous work with Tad Morose. Hopefully Pyramaze can retain this lineup.

So Immortal is the first album without Lance King, and while this is still very much Pyramaze in sound, of course Matt Barlow's vocals are quite different. In saying that though Immortal doesn't sound like an Iced Earth CD. Matt Barlow is impressive as ever on his comeback release, bringing his powerful voice to Pyramaze.

Immortal has Pyramaze's members giving their all to deliver fans a striking riff laden album. The guitars of Michael Kammeyer and Toke Skjønnemand are a mighty force, Jonah Weingarten's keyboards are utilised fully and the drumming of Morten Gade Sørensen is technical, rapid and powerful as ever.

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by