Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Korn: Live at Montreux 2004 (DVD)

Long considered one of the most successful and influential metal acts of the last 15 years, Korn's first and only appearance at the famed Montreux Jazz Festival (which, in recent years, has opened up their policy to invite in non-jazz artists, Korn no doubt perhaps the heaviest band to ever play the festival) in 2004 is a highly super-charged set that sees the original line-up of the band kicking ass in front of an enthusiastic crowd. This was to be one of the last shows with the original incarnation of Korn , as guitarist Brian 'Head' Welch and drummer David Silveria left shortly thereafter, the band never really replacing them to this day as their roles have been filled by a revolving list of musicians. To many hardcore fans, the band was never really the same after these two members left, as Korn have flirted with more commercial as well as industrial/electronic elements the last few years, leaving many of their loyal metal followers scratching their heads. Not the case on this DVD however, which features Korn at the height of their powers, pummeling the large audience into submission with their mix of extreme metal, psychedelia, hip-hop, and funk. The set list is pretty much a stellar greatest hits compilation, as Jonathan Davis & Co. tear through bottom heavy classics like "Right Now", "Got the Life", "Dead Bodies Everywhere", "Here to Stay", and "Y'All Want a Single", as well as their radio & MTV hits "Falling Away From Me" and "Freak On a Leash". The band even throws in a few surprising covers, like the crushing second half of Metallica's "One" and a neat rendition of Pink Floyd's "Another Brick In the Wall".

Expertly shot and complete with sterling sound, this is a very exciting DVD for Korn fans and those into modern heavy metal. Though there's no bonus material to speak of on this one (quite the missed opportunity for some interviews with the band and festival promoters if you ask me), this is an energy filled performance from a band that always knew how to entertain their audience and deliver ground breaking music time and time again in an age where metal really needed something fresh to get itself out of its doldrums.

Track Listing
1) Right Now
2) Break Some Off
3) Got The Life
4) Here To Stay
5) Falling Away From Me
6) Blind
7) Shoots & Ladders
8) One
9) Freak On A Leash
10) A.D.I.D.A.S.
11) Dead Bodies Everywhere
12) Did My Time
13) Another Brick In The Wall
14) Faget
15) Somebody Someone
16) Y'all Want A Single

Added: June 9th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 2647
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by