Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Wakeman, Rick: Aspirant Sunset (Reissue)

Despite the fact that this thing boasts a lovely, soothing track called "Sea of Tranquility," it's tough to recommend Aspirant Sunset to anyone but the hardcore Rick Wakeman fan. As part of the prolific keyboard player's 1990s "Aspirant Trilogy," this album was originally released in 1991 and features ambient, peaceful New-Age arrangements composed and performed by Wakeman to reflect evening drawing nigh. Slowly cascading piano runs and heavenly atmospheres are intended to as the CD's back cover states "be a breath of fresh air for you in our sadly polluted environment." Or, just maybe, put you to sleep.

Remastered and available for the first time in years, Aspirant Sunset (and its companions, Aspirant Sunrise and Aspirant Sunshadows) is far from essential but offers yet another perspective on Wakeman's ever-evolving repertoire.

Track Listing:
1) Floating Clouds
2) Still Waters
3) The Dream
4) The Sleeping Village
5) Sea of Tranquility
6) Peace
7) Sunset
8) Dying Embers
9) Dusk
10) Evening

Added: May 12th 2008
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Rick Wakeman Web Site
Hits: 3262
Language: dutch

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by