Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Malone, Sean: Cortlandt

Sean Malone, best known as the bassist of the legendary Florida Metal band Cynic, has had his 1996 solo record, Cortlandt, re-released by Free Electric Sound, which features great instrumental modern Fusion and Prog Rock performances both on the Bass, as well as the eclectic Stick. Malone enlisted the services of guitarist Reeves Gabrels (David Bowie's Tin Machine) and Warr guitarist Trey Gunn (King Crimson) on a couple of tracks, as well as Florida guitarist Bob Bunin to help round out this CD.

This is nice listen for musicians and non-musicians alike, with good songs and nice performances throughout, while never being overly self indulgent or a notey math workout. Malone shows off some serious chops on The Stick, that would make Tony Levin say "Damn", while keeping the percussive instrument very present in the mix while never overpowering. He uses it as both a lead vehicle and as rhythmic tool on a lot of this 10 track CD. Checkout the stellar "Sinfonia" for some sick Stick work! Standout opening track, "Controversy" leads off this fiery release with a go for throat frenzy that is simply enjoyable to listen to. You can just feel the fun that was had making this CD. "Splinter" comes up next and takes the ball towards a bit of a hard rocking journey. There are even some great covers on this one, from the John Coltrane classic, "Giant Steps", to guitar god Pat Metheny's "Unquity Road", to the adaptation of J.S. Bach's 15-three part inventions, the afore mentioned, "Sinfonia". There are so many different types of textures on Cortlandt, that again,make it just a really good listen. Fans of Jaco and John Patitucci will love this stuff.

Malone gets to spread out his musical wings on Cortlandt and shows that a player can solo as well as nail down the beat, all while never alienating the listener. Jazz fans will eat this release up and new comers will not get lost at all. Sean Malone shows a ton of musical talent on the bass & Stick, but more importantly he shows that he can write a great instrumental song. Malone comes a long way from the '90's Metal styling's of Cynic with this great Fusion release, and it just goes to show that you can't judge a book by its Metal cover. An outstanding record that doesn't disappoint, bore or get on your nerves. Highly recommended! Sean Malone is a monster under wraps.

Track Listing
1. Controversy
2. Splinter
3. Fischer's Gambit
4. Hand Full Of Earth
5. Sinfonia
6. Giant Steps
7. At Taliesin
8. Big Sky Wanting
9. The Big Idea
10. Unquity Road

Added: April 30th 2008
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Sean Malone website
Hits: 2061
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by