Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Oxygene8: Freak of Chance

Sounding sort of like Porcupine Tree with Deborah Harry or Madonna on vocals, the multinational trio Oxygene8 breathes new life into modern prog. The collaboratives second CD, Freak of Chance, showcases Linda Cushma in the unlikely role of lead vocalist and Chapman stick player. Shes joined by drummer Kiko King and guitarist Claudio Cordero (both of Mexican prog heroes Cast), plus bassist Tony Levin (King Crimson, Peter Gabriel) and drummer Tim Alexander (Primus, Attention Deficit).

Atmospheric rockers like opener Close Your Eyes and No Different But Not the Same segue into the electronic-drenched spoken-word dreamscape of Dont Look Down," which becomes a dynamic pop-rock song with the albums best guitar solo. The title track, while similar to Dont Look Down, contains more edgy paranoia before morphing into a steamy dance-floor orgy. Poetic Reprise closes thealbum with a lounge-act freak-out reminiscent of Zappa and Crimson. Too bad this thing is only five tracks and 23 minutes long.

Take a deep breath and suck in the goodness.

Track Listing:
1) Close Your Eyes
2) No Different But Not the Same
3) Dont Look Down
4) Freak of Chance
5) Poetica Reprise

Added: April 26th 2008
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Oxygene8 Web Site
Hits: 2363

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by