Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Impaled Nazarene: Manifest

Finland's masters of punk infused black metal are back with their latest platter of Satanic & war splattered blasphemy, Manifest. If you thought 2006's Pro Patria Finlandia took this band to new levels of extremity, you ain't heard nothing yet. Manifest jumps right out of the gate with manic intensity, the band coming across like classic Motorhead had Lemmy & the boys ever decided to take a stab at black metal. Tracks like "The Calling" (check out the ripping lead guitar work on this one!), "Mushroom Truth", "Funeral For Despicable Pigs", "Die Insane", and "Planet Nazarene" all rage along at Mach 10 speed, with blast beats blasting, guitar riffs motoring, and some of the most ravaged, hate spewing vocals (courtesy of Slutifer) that you will ever hear.

On the down side, at 50 minutes and 16 songs, Manifest kind of wears out its welcome about 3/4 of the way through, as too many of the tracks follow the same level of intensity and tone. Also, some of the lyrics are borderline cheesey ("The Antichrist Files", "You Don't Rock Hard", and "When Violence Commands The Day" come to mind instantly) making it hard to take some of these songs seriously. Overall though there's some solid stuff here, and while Manifest might not be the best Impaled Nazarene album yet, there are a handful of tracks on this one that represent some of the best black metal that Finland has to offer.

Track Listing

  1. Intro Greater Wrath
  2. The Antichrist Files
  3. Mushroom Truth
  4. You Don't Rock Hard
  5. Pathogen
  6. Pandemia
  7. The Calling
  8. Funeral For Despicable Pigs
  9. Planet Nazarene
  10. Blueprint For Your Culture's Apocalypse
  11. Goat Justice
  12. Die Insane
  13. Original Pig Rig
  14. Suicide Song
  15. When Violence Commands The Day
  16. Dead Return

Added: April 17th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2935
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by