Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Eyes Set To Kill: Reach

Formed in 2004 by sisters Alexia & Anissa Rodriquez, Eyes Set To Kill are a 5 piece Screamo fueled band from the desert of Tempe, Arizona. Anissa handles the bass chores, while sister Alexia's duties are vocals, lead guitar & piano and are rounded out by Brandon Anderson (keys), drummer Caleb Clifton and guitarist Greg Kerwin. Eyes Set To Kill's new CD, Reach, uses Alexia's pristine clean vocals with annoying Nu-Screamo vocals over the top on just about every other vocal verse, while all badly under the disguise of some sort of laughably made up Goth muse.

Reach doesn't seem to go anywhere and just plods along with unmemorable songs and sub par musical performances. I will give them some credit for their use of piano interludes throughout the CD, but their Pop type melodies around a Hardcore/Screamo aggressive delivery falls a bit short. Their lyrical expression of teenaged angst, loneliness, and rebellion may speak to this generation of kids, but provides nothing new. The highlight, if any, would be the tender vocals from Alexia Rodriquez, but her fairy- like vocal styling's are easily ruined with the sub par counterpoint screams at every chance they get to in fuse them. Is it necessary to reiterate every vocal verse with a bad counter scream?

Musically, Eyes Set To Kill are fairly solid without ever really being on the cusp of being creative or interesting. Their use of back up screaming adds nothing to the songs and really just misses the point, and with it being used so often, the abusive sounding tool becomes rather annoying. Overall, Reach is a CD that might find a home with kids that like their Metal to have no point or direction. And judging by what a lot of kids these days call good, this could be right up their alley.

Track Listing

  1. Intro
  2. Song 2
  3. Reach
  4. Darling
  5. Violent Kiss
  6. Young Blood Spills Tonight
  7. When We Started
  8. Into The Night
  9. Give You My All
  10. Liar In The Glass
  11. Only Holding On
  12. Behind These Eyes

Added: April 6th 2008
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Bands My Space Page
Hits: 4798
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by