Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dub Trio: Another Sound Is Dying

WOW! This is one of the grooviest, massive and FUN records that I have ever heard. I defy you to only play it once all the way through. It is NOT possible. The Brooklyn, NY Dub Trio, have one of the best releases of 2008 on the plate with their 3rd CD, Another Sound is Dying (Ipecac Records). This CD is mostly instrumental and is so highly entertaining that it should be frickin' illegal. This record is the shit!

Mixing elements of Metal, Punk, Indie Rock and Reggae, Dub Trio are a force all unto their own. Heavy driving guitar with banging Punk pulsing bass lines and a groove monster of a drummer, Dub Trio's Another Sound Is Dying is a pure masterpiece. These guys are each multi-instrumentalists and man does it shine through. The 14 track Another Sound Is Dying is simply put...perfect! Members; Stu Brooks-Bass, DP Holmes-Guitar and Joe Tomino-Drums manage to immaculately combine the best of experimental Rock/Fusion and their traditional Reggae and take it to the next level. This CD is a rocker, and with the collaboration of Mr. Indie, Mike Patton (also the co-owner of Dub Trio's record label) on the one and only vocal track, the angst laden, "No Fear", these Instrumentalists show that they can bring it, with or without vocals. Lead off song, "Not For Nothing" will get your heart pumping with its massive, thumping groove, and "Felicitacion" has the great feel of the cool '80's/'90's Indie Rock movement, while "Bay vs. Leonard" throws in that Reggae flavor with ambient noise and toys that Dub Trio have become famous for.

Dub Trio have a life altering CD here with Another Sound Is Dying. 14 songs of exactly what music should be like: fun, exciting and with purpose. These guys are excellent musicians without ever being pompous or boring, which is the knock on some "musician types" of music, but these guys are NOT that. Dub Trio embrace the Rock, Hip-Hop, Punk and Reggae forms of music, mix it all up in a blender and spit it out in a way that is simply brilliant. If you have never heard these guys, do yourself a favor and buy, beg, borrow or steal this CD. It is THAT good! Dub Trio rocks-I LOVE these guys!!!

Track Listing

  1. Not For Nothing
  2. Jog On
  3. Bay vs. Leonard
  4. Felicitacion
  5. Mortar Dub
  6. Regression Line
  7. Who Wants To Die?
  8. Respite
  9. No Flag
  10. The Midnight Rider
  11. Safe And Sane
  12. Agonist
  13. Fuck What You Heard
  14. Funishment

Added: March 24th 2008
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band's My Space Page
Hits: 2085
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by