Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Hexperos: The Garden of the Hesperides

Hexperos is the latest Gothic/ Neo-Classical project from Italian musicians Alessandra Santovito (voice and flute) and Franceso Forgione (double bass, guitar and keyboards). Both Santovito and Forgione have been actively involved over the years with various different Classical and Jazz projects, as well as maintaining a presence in the underground alternative scene, most notably Santovito who was a founding member of the band Gothica.

The Garden of the Hesperides is an extremely enchanting and luminous listening experience which really commences the first moment you hear Santovito's sensuous, operatic vocals on the 2nd track "Hesperos". By the time the listener has gotten through the title track and the 4th song "The Magnificence Of The Night", they should be completely hooked by her seductive voice and the simple yet extremely effective arrangements. Throughout the course of this disc the music achieves the perfect balance between quieter, delicate, more introspective passages, while other sections reveal a flair for the dramatic. It all comes together perfectly as Fogione's inventive, percussive patterns and light keyboard touches creates the primary musical backbone, along with a few guest musicians who contribute some violin, and harp for added textural ambience.

The music on this disc provides the ultimate escape from the everyday world, so if you're looking to unwind and spend some quality, quiet time alone, then The Garden of the Hesperides should be more than able to provide that escape. Light some candles (black of course), kick back with a glass of wine and let the entrancing sounds of Hexperos take you on that special journey.

Track Listing
1) Walking Roots
2) Hesperos
3) The Garden Of The Hesperides
4) The Magnificence Of The Night
5) Rime Glitters In The Sun
6) The Warm Whisper Of The Wind
7) Artemsia
8) The Call Of The Ibis
9) Ritual
10) Loto Nero
11) Nana
12) Winter Rhymes
13) Ave Maria

Added: March 19th 2008
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Equilibrium Music
Hits: 1573
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by