Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Fraise: A New Beginning

After major changes in manpower following the release of 2004's Hellicornia, Sweden's old-school power-metalheads Fraise return with a fury. The appropriately titled A New Beginning is filled with raucous guitars and majestic keyboards as well as rough-around-the-edge vocals and little originality that's more than reconciled by the earnestness of Fraise's five members. Comparisons to Stratovarius, Edguy, Nocturnal Rites and Hammerfall abound (especially on songs like "In Luxury" and "Arian and Arador"), but all of those bands have a better sense of melody and pacing. Granted, those groups also boast a long-standing status that Fraise originally a studio project dating back to only 2003 has yet to attain. But A New Beginning shows just enough promise to keep them lumped in with the veterans. For now, at least.

Track Listing:
1) Fall A Prey
2) Heal Me Now
3) Colours of Sin
4) Light My Flame
5) Sign of Victory
6) In Luxury
7) Midnight Moon
8) Arian and Arador
9) Take Me Away
10) Always Hope
11) Where Angels Fly
12) Euphoria

Added: March 18th 2008
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Fraise Web Site
Hits: 2157
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by